Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1

    Default Has NZ Intenet been affected by the Asian quake?

    seems OK by me...

    Internet and phone services have been disrupted across much of Asia after an earthquake damaged undersea cables, leaving one of the world's most tech-savvy regions in a virtual blackout.

    From frustrated traders seeking in vain for stock quotes to anxious newshounds accustomed to round-the-clock updates on world events, millions of people from China to Japan to Australia were believed to have been affected.

    There was no chaos on the stock exchanges or any of the other doomsday scenarios of science fiction, but reports that services could be down for weeks were dramatic enough.

    "It is not a matter of days," said Hong Seoung-Yong, an official with South Korea's information and communication ministry. "It will take longer than that to repair the damaged lines."

    A 7.1-magnitude earthquake off the coast of Taiwan on Tuesday night, which was followed by several smaller quakes in the region, apparently damaged the vast network of underwater cables that enables modern communication.

    "The Internet capacity in Taiwan is about 40 percent now, so the service is jammed," said a spokesman for Chunghwa Telecom, Taiwan's largest phone company on Tuesday.

    The disruption was widespread, hitting China, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Singapore, Hong Kong and elsewhere, with knock-on effects as far away as Australia for companies whose Internet is routed through affected areas.

    Phone services in some countries were also disrupted, in particular for calls to the United States.

    "Several undersea data cables were damaged," said a spokesman for PCCW, Hong Kong's biggest telecoms company.

    Service providers quickly tried to redirect customers to the cables that had not been affected but the reduced capacity was no match for the normal workload of users, leaving Internet service that was painfully slow or non-existent.

    "It's a nightmare, basically, because we have no idea what is going on in the markets today," said Steve Rowles, an analyst with CFC Seymour in Hong Kong, who echoed others in saying that damage was limited due to year's end.

    "It has happened on the right day as a lot of people are away for holidays, so there's low trading volumes," he said.


    The Tokyo Stock Exchange, the world's largest bourse outside of New York, was functioning without problems, a spokesman said.

    http://www.breitbart.com/news/2006/1....q1satn81.html
    Whats new on Stuffucanuse.com, and the messageboard?

  2. #2
    Misc. User of PressF1 somebody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,198

    Default Re: Has NZ Intenet been affected by the Asian quake?

    I can't access some websites, as my ISP appears to tunnel a lot of data through hubs in Asia, rather than using the Southern Cross cable.

  3. #3
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,227

    Default Re: Has NZ Intenet been affected by the Asian quake?

    Heh, I thought we were Asia....

    Anyhow, Checking up on the order I made via a Hong Kong store has been a bit iffy, Other then that, who cares if they cant see what the market is, Its only money, a real nightmare would be...uh.....a giant wave that kills 200 thousand people.
    better Dredd then dead

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    5,067

    Default Re: Has NZ Intenet been affected by the Asian quake?

    Quote Originally Posted by somebody View Post
    I can't access some websites, as my ISP appears to tunnel a lot of data through hubs in Asia, rather than using the Southern Cross cable.
    Who is your ISP somebody?

  5. #5
    Misc. User of PressF1 somebody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,198

    Default Re: Has NZ Intenet been affected by the Asian quake?

    I use Ihug, and in past tracert queries I have discovered that my connections are routed through somewhere in Asia (asianetcom.net), rather than the Southern Cross cable (can't remember the name of the domain which is is though).

    For example, tracert to Google.com
    1 52 ms 49 ms 51 ms 192.168.0.1

    2 54 ms 59 ms 53 ms lo2.akl-grafton-bba1.ihug.net [203.109.128.242]

    3 85 ms 245 ms 91 ms gi1-2.akl-grafton-bdr1.ihug.net [203.109.130.35]

    4 55 ms 55 ms 55 ms ip-static-202-147-45-73.asianetcom.net [202.147.45.73]

    5 54 ms 55 ms 55 ms ge-1-1-0-0.gw4.akl1.asianetcom.net [202.147.55.226]

    6 208 ms 207 ms 209 ms po7-3.gw2.sjc1.asianetcom.net [202.147.55.158]

    7 208 ms 207 ms 207 ms 72.14.197.37

    8 209 ms 206 ms 209 ms 66.249.95.69

    9 270 ms 271 ms 269 ms 66.249.95.212

    10 288 ms 245 ms 245 ms 72.14.239.23

    11 284 ms 293 ms 275 ms 216.239.49.226

    12 273 ms 271 ms 273 ms 64.233.187.99


    Trace complete.


    The website I can't access is:
    http://www.dell.co.nz/orderstatus because I suspect it is routed through Singapore, as past hits have taken me to: support.sg.dell.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland / Tauranga
    Posts
    3,955

    Default Re: Has NZ Intenet been affected by the Asian quake?

    Only had one spam message today..
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    117

    Default Re: Has NZ Intenet been affected by the Asian quake?

    somebody How do you get the tracert message to stay on the screen after it has finished? I seem to remember there was an msdos p comand that sent a string to the printer. ?? D

  8. #8
    Madre Dios!!! beeswax34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Central Auckland
    Posts
    5,133

    Default Re: Has NZ Intenet been affected by the Asian quake?

    A lot of websites get routed through Asia Com and I am on Woosh. And Metla, I believe we are in the Pacific part of Asia Pacific.

  9. #9
    Insert witticism here
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: Has NZ Intenet been affected by the Asian quake?

    Quote Originally Posted by DavidW View Post
    somebody How do you get the tracert message to stay on the screen after it has finished? I seem to remember there was an msdos p comand that sent a string to the printer. ?? D

    Start / Run / cmd (note, not 'command')

    Do tracert from there
    Right click Menu bar, select edit then select all. Pressing enter will copy it for use elsewhere

  10. #10
    Senior Member jermsie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    563

    Default Re: Has NZ Intenet been affected by the Asian quake?

    Quote Originally Posted by DavidW View Post
    somebody How do you get the tracert message to stay on the screen after it has finished? I seem to remember there was an msdos p comand that sent a string to the printer. ?? D
    In CMD type:
    "tracert www.google.com > C:/trace.txt" (excluding quotes)

    good for records.
    Xtra and such go through 'global-gateway' which im pretty sure is the southern cross cable.
    Actually, you might remember when the SCC got cut last year (or very early this year). Load times on sites were huge as different routes were used. 1000ms + to google.com
    OS X + Ubuntu + Windows | www.twitter.com/jeremybank

Similar Threads

  1. NZ/s Asian tolerance
    By qazwsxokmijn in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 200
    Last Post: 09-04-2008, 07:41 PM
  2. DSL affected by weather
    By Greven in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-02-2007, 08:49 PM
  3. How many people are affected with this
    By gum digger in forum PressF1
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 23-04-2006, 03:11 PM
  4. intenet shortcuts...
    By MrBeef in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28-09-2003, 12:07 AM
  5. Intenet Explorer - Home Page
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-02-2001, 10:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •