Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,198

    Default Concern for Optus D1

    I saw a brief headline on tv1 at 8.30pm tonight that the optus d1 satellite may have gone up with the wrong technical specification on it.
    How long before optus B1 dies and we have no sky tv at all if they cant fix D1

    Last edited by Hitech; 14-11-2006 at 07:57 PM. Reason: spelling mistake

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,082

    Default Re: Concern for Optus D1

    Supposedly it has to do with the polarity of the NZ transmitter being wrong. One option results in lower signal strength and no improvement as far as "rain fade" compared with the existing sat.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,198

    Default Re: Concern for Optus D1

    Heres the news item here and the video about the satellite. It appears that the coordinates for australia have been set wrong. Australia has NZS coordinates and NZ has Australias Coordinates.Also they said sky will find out if it work properly wh en they Switch on the new satellite for nz at midnight tonight.

    http://tvnz.co.nz/view/page/411749/891689

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    5,069

    Default Re: Concern for Optus D1

    I know what sky TV may be saying now, " bugger us "

  5. #5
    Senior Member jermsie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    563

    Default Re: Concern for Optus D1

    So, does that mean a weaker signal?
    ..........oops..........
    OS X + Ubuntu + Windows | www.twitter.com/jeremybank

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,198

    Default Re: Concern for Optus D1

    No sky for three hours due to new satellite upgrade.


    http://www.skytv.co.nz/index.cfm?pageid=615

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    711

    Default Re: Concern for Optus D1

    well if worse comes to worse and a new satellite is needed, then the government should get it's own satellite built for 200million dollars like optus did. if they can afford 500million for a waterfront stadium surely they can afford their own satellite.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,198

    Default Re: Concern for Optus D1

    Optus D1 is working sky switched it over last night, if you have good eyes you will notice the picture is sharper and clearer. Now before you all race to your set top box and check the advanced set up and go to select satellite, You wil notice it still says optus B1, I rung sky about this this morning and they said that the software side takes a few days to update as their are over 600, 000 subscribers to change over to.But we are now all running on the new satellite at Last. And before anyone posts a link about the article on the stuff website about the satellite being stuffed up, that was printed before sky changed over last night.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    711

    Default Re: Concern for Optus D1

    hitech,

    so did u ask skytv how they fixed the problem with the satellite not being set for new zealand?

  10. #10
    Windows95 user since 1991 Scott Bartley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: Concern for Optus D1

    I believe one of those reports said that Optus had allocated SkyTV bandwidth on the "beam" that covers both Australia and NZ for now. This isn't their new-fangled NZ-only "spot beam" with all the new bells and whistles...just an interim solution.


Similar Threads

  1. Peak Oil, a far bigger concern than Global Warming.
    By Battleneter2 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 23-05-2008, 07:54 PM
  2. Optus D1 A Headache
    By Hitech in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21-11-2006, 08:22 PM
  3. Optus D1
    By Hitech in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17-10-2006, 02:24 PM
  4. Optus D1
    By Hitech in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22-08-2006, 09:47 AM
  5. Hard Drive noisey! Cause for concern?
    By clau_dos in forum PressF1
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 28-07-2005, 09:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •