Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Default What size PSU to get?

    Hi,

    I'm thinking about my next PC build and I've put together a list of the hardware I want to put into it. What size PSU would be the minimum to run these components:

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz LGA775
    Intel DP965LTCK ATX motherboard
    Corsair Value Select 2GB DC Kit DDR2 533MHz CL4 2x1024MB
    Western Digital 160GB 7200rpm Serial ATA
    Western Digital 400GB 7200rpm Serial ATA
    Sapphire Radeon X1950 Pro 256MB
    LiteOn SOHW-1693S Dual Layer 16X

  2. #2

  3. #3
    6146-B Billy T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    6,887

    Default Re: What size PSU to get?

    Don't try to select a PSU by numbers, next to the CPU, it is the heart and soul of your system.

    Buy the best quality product and the highest power rating you can reasonably afford. I have repaired hundreds of switching PSUs of many types, not necessarily related to computers, and quality always shines through.

    Get a big-name brand of at least 500W capacity and you will have reliable power for the life of your computer, lightning strikes and overloads excepted.

    Cheers

    Billy 8-{)
    Some days it's not even worth chewing through my restraints!

  4. #4
    Senior Member Pete O'Neil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    988

    Default Re: What size PSU to get?

    If you budget is tight then a 500w model is probably a bit excessive for that build. Antec, Enermex and Silverstone all make quality PSU's, any of their model around 400w-500w would be ideal. Make sure whatever PSU you buy has the correct connectors etc.

    Out of curriousity why are you buying an Intel motherboard? Granted they have a good reputation for stability, but you normally pay through the tooth for them.

  5. #5

    Default Re: What size PSU to get?

    Quote Originally Posted by Pete O'Neil View Post
    Out of curriousity why are you buying an Intel motherboard? Granted they have a good reputation for stability, but you normally pay through the tooth for them.
    The Intel mobo I've selected is actually one of the cheapest P965 motherboards listed on Pricespy. I did consider the Abit AB9, but that board is $100 more expensive. Basically, as you said, the Intel board has a rep for stability. I'm not an overclocker, so I don't need a board big on features. Also, for its price, the Intel board includes onboard Firewire, and none of the other brands in the price range of the Intel include Firewire. This computer I'm building will double as a modest gaming and video-editing machine.

Similar Threads

  1. What size PSU for new PC?
    By xmojo1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-06-2007, 04:59 PM
  2. winxp: size & size on disk
    By Jacob4165 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-03-2004, 03:50 PM
  3. HDD size
    By Chris Randal in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-05-2003, 07:30 PM
  4. Allocation Unit Size / Cluster Size
    By Mike in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14-11-2002, 09:07 PM
  5. Max RAM size
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-10-2001, 06:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •