Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: PC restarting

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default PC restarting

    Hey guys, I need a bit of help here. I recently got a new rig and I'm having problems with it restarting whenever I play games. I've turned of auto-restart and it still happens. It happens randomly as well and gives no error message. It will either completely restart or will freeze and I will manually need to restart it. When it freezes the sound gets caught in a loop.

    Specs are:

    M/B: Asus P5LD2-VM SE
    CPU: Core 2 Duo E6400 2.13 775 socket.
    Ram: 2Gb Dual channel transcend.
    HDD: Western Digital 320Gb SATA 2

    Am using onboard sound and graphics until G/C arrives, and have installed latest drivers for chipset, sound and graphics. But still the problem continues.

    Have also downloaded Everest to monitor temps, idle is anywhere from 30-33C and have only seen it up around 41-42 after it's restarted after trying to play a game.

    I don't know what else to do, can anyone help please?

  2. #2
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,801

    Default Re: PC restarting

    what powersupply are you useing?

    whats the case temps?

    also asus often have their own temp reading program.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: PC restarting

    I originally thought it was the power supply because I hadn't upgraded that but I've got a new 430W from a 300W. When you say case temp do you mean M/B temp or something else?

  4. #4
    All Star
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    553

    Default Re: PC restarting

    Quote Originally Posted by jazz_99 View Post
    I originally thought it was the power supply because I hadn't upgraded that but I've got a new 430W from a 300W. When you say case temp do you mean M/B temp or something else?
    have youany idea what the Ampage on the 12v Rail is on that 430W PSU ?.

    and, i had this exact same problem with my brand new rig. it turned out to be crappy RAM. so i ugraded to 2GIG Corsair. and it fixed it.

    do a memtest on RAM, and if you have the RAM in Dual Channel, ar ethey a matched pair ?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: PC restarting

    Ram is two 1 Gb transcend chips exactly the same, so I'm guessing they're dual channel, well they should be. Will try a mem tester on them.

  6. #6
    Senior Member mmmork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    218

    Default Re: PC restarting

    Your machine is in a whole other league to mine, but RAM can cause all sorts of bizarre and frustrating problems I have recently found.

    In my case the solution was popping it out, making sure the edges were clean, and also cleaning the ram slots themselves. I had memtest errors during one test, but it turns out the ram itself was fine, it just wasn't seated well enough.

    On a much newer machine like yours this probably doesn't apply, but might be something to try.

  7. #7
    All Star
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    553

    Default Re: PC restarting

    whats the model name of your Power Supply ?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: PC restarting

    It would be wise to save whatever you can on to floppy and rewipe your machine asap.

    [Edit: please ignore nethaniels post, it is obviously school holidays which is reflected in the inappropriate advice and troll like post he has made - Jen (Moderator)]
    Last edited by Jen; 08-10-2006 at 07:42 AM.

  9. #9
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    10,069

    Default Re: PC restarting

    What's a floppy?
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  10. #10
    Cyber Chique
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: PC restarting

    Quote Originally Posted by jazz_99 View Post
    Ram is two 1 Gb transcend chips exactly the same, so I'm guessing they're dual channel, well they should be. Will try a mem tester on them.
    Hi,
    Try removing one of the sticks of ram and see if that helps. If still the same swap it with the other stick and test again.

Similar Threads

  1. PC Restarting
    By Matrix64 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14-09-2008, 04:07 PM
  2. New PC keeps restarting itself?!
    By Chemical Ali in forum PressF1
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 17-01-2008, 12:19 PM
  3. XP not restarting
    By Shione83 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-01-2004, 01:14 PM
  4. XP keeps restarting
    By nicnz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-01-2003, 04:27 PM
  5. Restarting ME in MS-DOS
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-09-2001, 07:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •