Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Limiting Bandwidth...

    Yes, I know. but as I said before, the 'rents don't want another bill, especially since I am really the only one who uses it...

    I am going to seriously have another crack at it tonight

    What ISP is that with?
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  2. #12
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Limiting Bandwidth...

    Quote Originally Posted by The_End_Of_Reality
    pctek - I must get onto them, as I am not getting my full speed either, I am only getting 2Mb, which is still better than some people...

    WHAT??!! willpower??? that is a bit like (this is probably not a very good example... but...) telling a boy racer not to go and race, but he will anyway AND I have tried
    Better hurry, they're going to stop the refunds soon.

    Well, this is your parents account. How about arranging for them to come nad drag you away from the PC?

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,407

    Default Re: Limiting Bandwidth...

    Seriously, you need a counsellor rather than a magic program!

    So, when the magic program sticks the limit flag up what are you going to do? Go meekly to bed or disable the program?

    You could also stop bludging off your parents, go get a job and contribute to the bill. But I forgot, if you were working you wouldn't have time to download so much!!

  4. #14
    Pedant and proud of it
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    6,047

    Default Re: Limiting Bandwidth...

    Get a dialup account.

  5. #15
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Limiting Bandwidth...

    pctek - I will get onto them soon...

    linw - I set things DLing and do other things... I am still at school, therefor don't have A LOT of time for a job, BUT I DO have one, get your facts straight before posting...

    Graham - that is just not funny I know how bad they are...
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  6. #16
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pukekohe Shuttle
    Posts
    10,066

    Default Re: Limiting Bandwidth...

    Quote Originally Posted by Graham L
    Get a dialup account.
    What, and sacrifice 256Kb\s speed for a week? Good idea.
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  7. #17
    Peripatetic member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dunedin & Central Otago
    Posts
    2,795

    Default Re: Limiting Bandwidth...

    pcuserwinxp:
    What's with the content of the Apache webpage link in your sig?

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whangaparaoa
    Posts
    1,646

    Default Re: Limiting Bandwidth...

    Heck yeah, a dialup account will stop you even using the net!

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    269

    Default Re: Limiting Bandwidth...

    Quote Originally Posted by chiefnz
    OK so what happens when you realise that you can't wait any longer for a download. There's no point in limiting how much you can download from a single machine if you're not planning to curb your downloading.

    The best solution is to get a higher cap. I pay $59.95/month and I get 30GB of international traffic, national traffic is free. I usually average between 12 and 15GB (highest I've been is 18GB) but it sure beats running @ 56K.

    Shop around and you will find a better deal. There are far more better ISP's than Xtra... you just need to look.

    Cheers

    chiefnz
    Hey, sorry to hijack the thread, but what isp is that with?



  10. #20
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Limiting Bandwidth...

    I used to be on dial up, only switched to BB in December of last year, I was on the net DLing so much, that we went over the hourly rate, AND parents use the BB for work occationally (RDC and the likes which require as fast a net connection as possible).

    Ducky - I asked that ealier, I would also like to know
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

Similar Threads

  1. Limiting speed
    By sarel in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 09:37 AM
  2. Limiting CPU speed for old software
    By Hokonui in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-07-2007, 07:24 PM
  3. Limiting download speed.
    By pine-o-cleen in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-10-2005, 06:45 PM
  4. Limiting to National Traffic
    By Chilling_Silence in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 26-03-2003, 02:31 PM
  5. Limiting software load at boot up
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-08-2001, 11:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •