Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 2 CPU Drivers?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    36

    Default 2 CPU Drivers?

    I am helping out relative PC. When starting up, I noticed on the start up screen that there are two 3000Mhz on the screen.
    I decided to check it out by looking at Processors in Device Manager window. There, I found two CPU drivers.
    Both are showing same driver number.

    I am wondering should I delete one of the drivers?

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    1,606

    Default Re: 2 CPU Drivers?

    Uuhhhh yeah... there is no such thing as a driver for a CPU, at least not in the true sense of the word driver.

    A driver is a piece of software which makes the hard interface with the Operating system and other related application software. I believe you get CPU optimaizations and the like for CPU's but they are certainly not drivers.

    Your relative might have a dual core processor... in which case the entries in the device manager would be correct. It is normal to show 2 CPU's if a dual core CPU is in use.

    Cheers

    chiefnz

    Asus PRIME Z370-P
    Core i7-8700K @ 5.0GHz (XMP)
    Corsair Hydro H100x
    16GB Klevv BOLT X Gaming 3200MHz DDR4
    Intel 660P 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial P1 1TB M.2 NVMe
    Seagate Barracuda 4TB SATA
    GTX 1660 SUPER OC
    Corsair Crystal 460X
    Corsair TX650M

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: 2 CPU Drivers?

    No dont delete either. If u mean 3000 as in 3 GHZ.

    It maybe an HT (Hyperthreading CPU).

    This is normal. It'll show 2 windows under the performance tab in XP, and 2000 (Where it says CPU usage history).

  4. #4
    Smiling Down On Youse SurferJoe46's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, Montana, USA
    Posts
    14,317

    Default Re: 2 CPU Drivers?

    Hey! That's interesting.

    I get dual CPU performance windows and one Page File Usage area on my AMD Athlon XP, but only when I am overclocked...now what? Most times, I run normal un-overclocked speeds and don't see the dual CPU bars.

    .....and when I fire up the other puters (2) on the LAN, I get some bumps on the Networking crawl too.

    Quite sure that I do not have a dual-core or hyperthreading...so what's up?

    I didn't build this puter...but my sons did and I wonder what I've got going on here now.


    Warum werden wir so früh alt und klug so spät?

  5. #5
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,778

    Default Re: 2 CPU Drivers?

    actually there is are drivers for CPU, there are normally built into windows however somtimes there are upgraded ones released by MS. however its more of a windows thing rather than a hardware thing.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: 2 CPU Drivers?

    At first I thought it was dual Processor PC, how do I find out if it is dual or Hyperthreading CPU?

    Okay I wont delete the driver from the Device manager. It pay to ask before doing something if you are not sure.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: 2 CPU Drivers?

    Quote Originally Posted by stingray68
    At first I thought it was dual Processor PC, how do I find out if it is dual or Hyperthreading CPU?

    Okay I wont delete the driver from the Device manager. It pay to ask before doing something if you are not sure.

    Thanks
    Could be either. Check and see what the brand/model of the mobo is, and if u built it or brought it, someone should know whats in it.

  8. #8

    Default Re: 2 CPU Drivers?

    Quote Originally Posted by tweak'e
    actually there is are drivers for CPU, there are normally built into windows however somtimes there are upgraded ones released by MS. however its more of a windows thing rather than a hardware thing.
    No, there are no drivers for the CPU. Ever. Windows is compiled for a specific CPU architecture (x86 or x86-64) and will run only on that type of CPU. To change the CPU support you would have to recompile everything.

    If anything could be said to be a 'driver' for a processor it would be a component of the compilation environment (i.e. GCC architecture plugins).
    Last edited by TGoddard; 31-07-2006 at 06:03 PM. Reason: A sentence looked odd

  9. #9
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,778

    Default Re: 2 CPU Drivers?

    so why does MS have cpu drivers advailable for download ??
    Tweak it till it breaks

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: 2 CPU Drivers?

    Quote Originally Posted by tweak'e
    so why does MS have cpu drivers advailable for download ??
    Like what

Similar Threads

  1. Omega drivers vs ATI drivers
    By Prescott in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14-11-2004, 11:01 AM
  2. Drivers
    By tvg70 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-07-2004, 07:14 AM
  3. CD Drivers
    By tkelly in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-05-2004, 11:21 PM
  4. Drivers
    By Taklord in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-02-2004, 08:11 PM
  5. drivers
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-03-2002, 09:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •