Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: CPU upgrade

  1. #1
    mean eating machine ronyville's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Retardville
    Posts
    1,491

    Default CPU upgrade

    hi people, I got a P4 2.6Ghz cpu with HT. Running XP Pro. I was looking to upgrade my cpu to a P4 3.0Ghz with HT. The questions is " Do i need or have to reinstall xp when upgrading the cpu"??

    cheers.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: CPU upgrade

    No. I dont think so.

    Just make sure the BIOS thats on the system, at the mo, supports 3 ghz+ before u change the CPU.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: CPU upgrade

    The theory is you should be able to, but make sure you have your important stuff backed up just in case.

  4. #4
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: CPU upgrade

    no of course you wont need to reinstall xp.....you may need to 'reactivate' it with microsoft but this is a nothing ......
    There are two sides to any question; MY side and the WRONG side (Winston Churchill)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: CPU upgrade

    You dont have to reinstall OS, but I dont think you can expect a noticeable
    performance improvement by upgrading CPU from 2.6 to 3.0. Why dont you
    use that money to buy some rams or a dvd writer or graphic card or another
    harddisk drive?

  6. #6
    mean eating machine ronyville's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Retardville
    Posts
    1,491

    Default Re: CPU upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by developer
    You dont have to reinstall OS, but I dont think you can expect a noticeable
    performance improvement by upgrading CPU from 2.6 to 3.0. Why dont you
    use that money to buy some rams or a dvd writer or graphic card or another
    harddisk drive?
    Thanks for your suggestion, but i already got a dvd writer, 128 geforce graphics card, 3 hard drives, and 1.5 Gb of ram. I only thought about upgrading cos i play quite a few games and thought that upgrading the cpu could improve the games performace a little.. ( i could be wrong... was just an idea i had)

    thanks for yur response guys.

  7. #7
    Modulator Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    9,115

    Default Re: CPU upgrade

    Yeah gaming is a good reason for upgrading anything. And of course you can sell the old cpu to help offset the cost of the new one.
    Bugger the cancer. I'm suffering from terminal inertia.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    172

    Default Re: CPU upgrade

    An upgrade on graphic card would give you better improvement than the
    cpu for game playing. if you have a geforce 5 or 6 series card, you can
    buy a 7600 etc, I think it will give you more FPS than the additonal
    400MHz on cpu, because for most games your cpu is unlikely to be your
    computer's bottleneck.



    Quote Originally Posted by ronyville
    Thanks for your suggestion, but i already got a dvd writer, 128 geforce graphics card, 3 hard drives, and 1.5 Gb of ram. I only thought about upgrading cos i play quite a few games and thought that upgrading the cpu could improve the games performace a little.. ( i could be wrong... was just an idea i had)

    thanks for yur response guys.

  9. #9
    Senior Member memphis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In A Building
    Posts
    830

    Smile Re: CPU upgrade

    What about going dual core,can you do that on your motherboard?
    If you can then that would be really a better choice instead of a single core.

    What is the graphic card you have at the moment,that is what makes the biggest improvment with games and would be what I would upgrade first instead of the cpu when doing a upgrade.

    I play games alot too.
    Last edited by memphis; 30-07-2006 at 09:41 PM.

  10. #10
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    1,648

    Default Re: CPU upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by ronyville
    hi people, I got a P4 2.6Ghz cpu with HT. Running XP Pro. I was looking to upgrade my cpu to a P4 3.0Ghz with HT. The questions is " Do i need or have to reinstall xp when upgrading the cpu"??
    cheers.
    As stated before you don't have to re-install XP. However, if you're wanting to increase performance I wouldn't bother with upgrading to a faster CPU.

    We are at the dawn of the release of Intel's Dual Core "Conroe" CPU and the new AMD Dual Core AM2 CPU's.

    If performance is what you're after then your best bet would be to wait, save some more do$h and then splash out on a new mobo/CPU/RAM upgrade.

    Hope that helps.

    cheers

    chiefnz

    Asus PRIME Z370-P
    Core i7-8700K
    Corsair Hydro H100x
    32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz
    Intel 660P 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial P1 1TB M.2 NVMe
    Crucial 512GB SSD
    Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC
    Corsair Crystal 460X
    EVGA SuperNOVA G+ 650W

Similar Threads

  1. xp upgrade
    By Rip Van Winkle in forum PressF1
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 13-09-2002, 12:28 PM
  2. RAM Upgrade
    By kiwitrader in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-09-2002, 11:44 AM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-02-2002, 06:19 PM
  4. CPU upgrade
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19-07-2001, 12:15 PM
  5. Ram Upgrade
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-03-2001, 09:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •