Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Angry wow its horrible

    Wow, just moved into my city apartment today and got woosh wireless.

    THings i found out:
    1. I use a mac, and thefellas didnt even tel me that i needed a special cable (it just doesnt work) took me abt 2 hrs to upgrade the firmware since i use the latest version of mac, install etc...


    2. Speeds are apalling, 40KB/s (they claim 1.6Mbps), takes 5s to load www.yahoo.com

    I think i want to move back to DSL. Just wondering if Orcons still be the best ISP in terms of speed reliability etc

    Btw, do i still have to pay the 150 dollar wiring fees? can i just get a self install kit and do it myself? does orcon offer this? i am not very good with computers or wiring stuff tho


    anybody with woosh having this experience?

  2. #2
    Peripatetic member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dunedin & Central Otago
    Posts
    2,795

    Default Re: wow its horrible

    Telling us which city you're in would be a help.

  3. #3

    Default Re: wow its horrible

    right in the middle of auckland city 10 mins walk to Auckland uni library

  4. #4
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: wow its horrible

    Quote Originally Posted by d00zer
    Wow, just moved into my city apartment today and got woosh wireless.
    Speeds are apalling

    I think i want to move back to DSL.

    Btw, do i still have to pay the 150 dollar wiring fees?
    Yes, you discovered Woosh sucks.

    $150 wiring fees? For normal broadband unless you have a monitored alarm or something normally all you need is the filters.

  5. #5

    Default Re: wow its horrible

    Hmm, i am not a techie, but 5 yrs ago when i first had "broadband" back in those days, i remembered calling a technician who came to my house and opened up the telephone jack port and did some wiring thingy...

    so is it new technology now when i just have to plug the filter into the normal telephone jack and it will work?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: wow its horrible

    Gidday,

    if you have a telephone line to a jackpoint in your home, all you will
    need is router or broadband modem, and a filter for the jackpoint where
    you plug your telephone into.

    the modems normally came with instructions, and of course you will need to set up your broadband connection with a provider.

    This site might help you make a chioce http://www.internetchoice.co.nz/

    good luck,

    Robby

Similar Threads

  1. Horrible movie picture
    By white_lightning in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20-10-2005, 05:51 PM
  2. 2Mbit -> Horrible connection
    By george12 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 25-12-2004, 12:15 AM
  3. Horrible black web sites.
    By Eric Richards in forum PressF1
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 22-10-2004, 12:17 AM
  4. Ever had that horrible sinking feeling...?
    By Stormwarden in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16-06-2004, 06:47 AM
  5. Help! the most horrible of problems...
    By Stormwarden in forum PressF1
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 20-11-2003, 06:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •