Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default New CPU help please

    Hi

    I have an ECS 'P4S5MG/GL+' Motherboard. Currently it's running an Intel Pentium 4 1.80GHz. I have another computer that is running an Intel Pentium 4 2.60GHz (2.66 i think) and I want to know if I swap them, will it run?

    ECS Product Page
    There is a list of I think can run on it, so i can see a 2.66 in the list so does that mean it will work? Also what will happen if it isnt compatable, IE any damage?

    Thanks for your help
    Mike.

  2. #2
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: New CPU help please

    If it says it can, then it can.
    Nope it won't kill it, its just likely to either not boot or report an incorrect speed.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: New CPU help please

    what is the motherboard model of the other machine?
    you need to match cpu sockets

  4. #4
    Modulator Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    9,115

    Default Re: New CPU help please

    When you've done your swap I'd be interested in buying your older CPU.

    Please email me if interested: fatkat at gmail.com
    Bugger the cancer. I'm suffering from terminal inertia.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: New CPU help please

    Hi. Sorry can't sell it as I need it for the other pc.

    NEW PROBLEM!
    I swapped them over. But my main computer took AGES to start up, so i right clicked on My Computer and click Properties. The top line on Computer says Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.6GHz. All good, but below it says 1.29GHz!!! So it's only running at 1.29 GHz, and the other CPU was running at 1.79.. so whats happening? I'm going to play around in the BIOS now. Please help!

  6. #6
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,954

    Default Re: New CPU help please

    proberly FSB settings. watch what speed of ram your useing tho.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  7. #7
    Senior Member george12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,507

    Default Re: New CPU help please

    Quote Originally Posted by Matrix64
    Hi. Sorry can't sell it as I need it for the other pc.

    NEW PROBLEM!
    I swapped them over. But my main computer took AGES to start up, so i right clicked on My Computer and click Properties. The top line on Computer says Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.6GHz. All good, but below it says 1.29GHz!!! So it's only running at 1.29 GHz, and the other CPU was running at 1.79.. so whats happening? I'm going to play around in the BIOS now. Please help!
    Sounds to me like the motherboard couldn't handle the higher FSB of the new CPU and reverted to one of it's native ones - the new CPU will probably have a 800Mhz FSB but if the new motherboard is 533Mhz max (v ery likely if it had a 1.8Ghz CPU in it), then it will choose 400Mhz because that's what it thinks is best matched. You could manually up it to the maximum it supports, which if it's 533Mhz will be anywhere between 533Mhz and 600Mhz probably, depending on how overclocker-friendly it is, but you probably won't get more than about 1.73 (probably your maximum) - 1.95GHz if it can only support a 533MHz FSB.

    In more simple terms, it's too fast for your motherboard.
    ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'vbulletin'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: New CPU help please

    why do you want to swap them anyway? you said you had two computers why would you want to swap the cpu, thismakes no sense to me!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •