Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Router problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5

    Default Router problem

    Hi
    I have been using a nokia m1122 router with my two home computers running xp. My router recently failed, when it was turned off abrutly at the wall socket. I have bought a new one, a US robotics sureconnect 9106. I set up this router to connect to my adsl account and it works fine on this computer. However on the other computer, i am unable to connect to the internet and under network connections, it says the network card is unable to obtain a ip address/Network does not assign one to the computer. Does anyone know what the problem is. I suspect the network card could have failed, as it was connected and running with the router, at the time of failure.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wish You Were Here
    Posts
    7,597

    Default Re: Router problem

    I don't want to be a bringer of sad news. I won't touch US Robotics routers again. I had 2 US Robotics 9105 routers and 1 9107 router. Useing them as a strait router they were ok but as soon as you opened up some ports on the routers they use to overheat and disconnect from the internet. Even in normal use the case use to get fairly hot. I now run a DSE XH1169 router and it barely gets warm.

    Trevor

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Router problem

    Well, what would you suggest as a good router. i am looking for one with adsl2 compability and wireless 802.11

  4. #4
    Senior Member Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wish You Were Here
    Posts
    7,597

    Default Re: Router problem

    I would try a Linksys WAG546 ADSL2 wireless router.

    Trevor
    Last edited by Trev; 11-06-2006 at 02:10 PM.

  5. #5
    Pedant and proud of it
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    6,047

    Default Re: Router problem

    Don't go rushing off to buy a different router, just because someone had problems with a different model.

    I suspect the card is probably OK because it is causing an error message. Do the link lights show on both ends of the cable? Do they go out if you disvonnect the cable? You should also get a "cable" error on the computer, too.

    Try giving that computer a fixed IP address. (or make sure that the router has got its DHCP server enabled.)

  6. #6
    Senior Member Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wish You Were Here
    Posts
    7,597

    Default Re: Router problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Graham L
    Don't go rushing off to buy a different router, just because someone had problems with a different model.

    I suspect the card is probably OK because it is causing an error message. Do the link lights show on both ends of the cable? Do they go out if you disvonnect the cable? You should also get a "cable" error on the computer, too.

    Try giving that computer a fixed IP address. (or make sure that the router has got its DHCP server enabled.)
    Actually 3 routers 2 the same model and 1 a differant model.

    Trevor

Similar Threads

  1. router problem
    By ncc7 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-08-2008, 02:26 PM
  2. Router Problem
    By CompCrazyFrog in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-01-2005, 09:46 AM
  3. Router Problem
    By Dolby Digital in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31-05-2004, 12:07 PM
  4. Network router/hub problem
    By tbacon_nz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 26-09-2002, 09:31 PM
  5. Printer & Router problem!
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21-06-1999, 09:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •