Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    13

    Default Media center PC & Sky TV

    Can I connect my sky Set top box to my PC TV card using a Coax cable, I have tried with no success.

  2. #2
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Media center PC & Sky TV

    Welcome to PressF1

    Yes you can, I have, there shound be a "To TV" coax socket in the middle at the bottom on the back, what decoder are you using? (Pace, Motorola, My Sky)
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Media center PC & Sky TV

    Thank you.
    I'm using a Motorola set top box. I can tune in using RCA and have tried using the TV out but with no luck. There are 2 coax sockets at the back of the sky box and I have a tv in the bedroom connected using the top socket with no problem. i have tried to connect to each of the sockets with my PC but can't get a signal. can You Help please

  4. #4
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Media center PC & Sky TV

    I can help, that is the exact setup I am using

    What TV tuner are you using? aslo what software?

    Have you gone to auto tune in the TV viewing software?
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Media center PC & Sky TV

    Hi
    I'm using an ATI Radeon 9550 TV card and the software is running through media center. i can't seem to find anything else software wise for the tv tuner and all my tuning is done through media center.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Media center PC & Sky TV

    Sorry ignore last reply.
    I think the TV card is a Conexant 23880 Tuner (Phillips 4 in 1)

  7. #7

    Default Re: Media center PC & Sky TV

    You should be able to connect Media Centre to Sky set up box. Check the Windows XP media centre site for instructions.
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/m...r/default.mspx

    Also check out this local site for more info etc.
    www.ehomedia.com

    From memory I think you need to go into media centre and reload the channel settings. Hope this helps.

  8. #8
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Media center PC & Sky TV

    I have not been able to get the changing of channels working, meaning you need to change them with the Sky decoder, if you 'auto tune' the program, it should pick up the sky, only 1 channel, mine is 606.5Mhz, might be the same or different for you
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    13

    Thumbs up Re: Media center PC & Sky TV

    Thanks for all your help i think I've sorted it. I was connecting using coax but tuning in as a set top box but this didn't work so i clicked on using an antenna and got it to tune in, but your correct you can't use media center remote.So I have changed and used RCA cables and tuned in as a satelite and have also configured the Media remote to turn over channels. thanks for all your replies very much appreciated

  10. #10
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Media center PC & Sky TV

    Nice, glad I could help
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

Similar Threads

  1. media center pc.
    By password in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-05-2008, 12:59 PM
  2. media center help
    By bring back the abacus in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14-08-2006, 02:21 PM
  3. Media Center program in xp media center
    By CorbinH in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16-07-2005, 04:47 PM
  4. Interesting Media Center
    By mr_rix in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-11-2004, 12:53 PM
  5. Windows XP Media Center WTF?
    By Kame in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15-03-2003, 08:59 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •