Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    In a ponga tree
    Posts
    1

    Question Set up Boot from cd rom

    Hey,

    As my pc wont boot from cd, ive opened the advanced BIOS feature to set it up.Before I change anything I thought i'd better ask first as Im a little confused on what the following means.

    Anti-virus protection - Disabled
    (I have AVG running so no idea what thats reffering to)

    hard disk S.M.A.R.T - Disabled
    Halt on keyboard error - Disabled
    HT CPU Function - Disabled

    And in Selected Boot Sequence menu

    1st. IDE-0:ST380011A
    2nd. CD/ DVD
    3rd Floppy
    (What does the first one stand for?)

    Having to deal with any technical issues makes me nervous, no matter how simple they are

  2. #2
    Mike Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rosarito, Mexico
    Posts
    1,396

    Default Re: Set up Boot from cd rom

    Quote Originally Posted by 1Pukeko
    1st. IDE-0:ST380011A
    2nd. CD/ DVD
    3rd Floppy
    (What does the first one stand for?)

    Having to deal with any technical issues makes me nervous, no matter how simple they are
    The first one is your hard drive. Change the first option to say CD/DVD, and the second option to say IDE-0:ST380011A. This just changes the boot order - currently your hard drive boots first. You want it to try to boot from CD first and if a bootable CD isn't found then it'll boot from your hard drive.

    Don't touch anything else if you don't know what you're doing

    HTH

    Mike.
    what are you doing looking in here?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: Set up Boot from cd rom

    I believe first one stand for a seagate hard drive.
    AMD 64 3200+, Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-9, MSI nvidia 6600GT, 1024Mb DDR400, win xp pro

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,856

    Default Re: Set up Boot from cd rom

    The anti virus option in the BIOS is for the bootblock of the hdd. It has nothing to do with protecting programs, within windows, once you're in windows.

    Its usually disabled.

    The 1st option 1st. IDE-0:ST380011A is the hdd by the looks of it, you need to press - or + (these are the keys u press on these systems, it maybe different to yours), so it shows 2nd. CD/ DVD as 1st. (Dont forget to save the BIOS settings, after you change the boot order).

    Then you should be able to boot from the cd, if you're going to reinstall windows.

    And these

    hard disk S.M.A.R.T - Disabled - dont worry about this. It doesnt matter if its disabled or enabled.

    Halt on keyboard error - Disabled - This means if the PS/2 plug is out it'll stop and tell you.

    HT CPU Function - Disabled - This, unless you've got an hyperthreading CPU /processor, this can be enabled if you want it. BUT this option (if you do have a CPU, which supports hyperthreading SHOULD be enabled, BEFORE windows 2000, or XP gets installed.
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 05-03-2006 at 10:32 AM.

  5. #5
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    5,149

    Default Re: Set up Boot from cd rom

    hard disk S.M.A.R.T - Disabled Enable it. it can tell you the hardrive is goingto fail.

    Halt on keyboard error - Disabled Enable it, i ussuall set it to halt on all errors as it handy to find out their is a plug loose before you boot up fully.

    Anti-virus protection - Disabled Enable it. pays to have it off for installing OS otherwise it can be handy. its only a basic check to to stop a virus attacking the bios. not related to any antivirus you may have installed.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,856

    Default Re: Set up Boot from cd rom

    Quote Originally Posted by tweak'e
    hard disk S.M.A.R.T - Disabled Enable it. it can tell you the hardrive is going to fail
    If the hdd supports it that is. No point enabling it, if it doesnt.

    Quote Originally Posted by tweak'e
    Halt on keyboard error - Disabled Enable it, i usually set it to halt on all errors as it handy to find out their is a plug loose before you boot up fully.
    True I spose.

    Quote Originally Posted by tweak'e
    Anti-virus protection - Disabled Enable it. pays to have it off for installing OS otherwise it can be handy. its only a basic check to to stop a virus attacking the bios. not related to any antivirus you may have installed.
    Not quite right, it doesnt protect the BIOS from a virus. It checks the bootblock of a hdd, and more often than not, it can give false-positives and stop a hdd from booting.

    If a virus was made to kill a BIOS, (there are some around), this option wouldnt stop it. It'll kill it, and make the system a doorstop.
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 05-03-2006 at 11:17 AM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Set up Boot from cd rom

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales
    If the hdd supports it that is. No point enabling it, if it doesnt.

    And what sort of rubbish HDD doesn't?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,856

    Default Re: Set up Boot from cd rom

    Quote Originally Posted by pctek
    And what sort of rubbish HDD doesn't?
    Well, I spose it depends how old it is, on whether the mobo/system supports it or not.

  9. #9
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    5,149

    Default Re: Set up Boot from cd rom

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales
    If the hdd supports it that is. No point enabling it, if it doesnt.
    even it dosn't support it, it shouldn't hurt to have it enabled.

    Not quite right, it doesnt protect the BIOS from a virus. It checks the bootblock of a hdd, and more often than not, it can give false-positives and stop a hdd from booting.

    If a virus was made to kill a BIOS, (there are some around), this option wouldnt stop it. It'll kill it, and make the system a doorstop.
    i stand corrected however i havn't seen it stop a HDD from booting, unless there is a partition/format change. you have to turn it off to do some of the partitioning/formating changes.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  10. #10
    Mike Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rosarito, Mexico
    Posts
    1,396

    Default Re: Set up Boot from cd rom

    Quote Originally Posted by pctek
    And what sort of rubbish HDD doesn't?
    Quite a few HDDs don't support it. I've got a couple here that don't support SMART, and I have a feeling that if you enable SMART checking on a drive that doesn't support it it'll throw up errors... can't remember though

    Mike.
    what are you doing looking in here?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-09-2005, 03:12 PM
  2. Win XP/ME dual boot often fails to boot.
    By Steve Askew in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-09-2003, 03:47 PM
  3. Dual boot 2 Single boot
    By Bambi in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26-12-2002, 02:25 PM
  4. Dual Boot problem - can't boot into W2000
    By quackle in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-10-2002, 07:42 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-04-2002, 10:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •