Near Harvey Normans; no deposit, nothing to pay for 50 years, and then they take your house.

Default backup to dvd program

Hi,

I need a program to copy large files to dvd. These files are backup files and therefore are quite large 8GB+. I have tried Nero express, Deepburner and a few others and they will not copy to more than one dvd i.e. 4.5GB is the limit and cannot get the 8GB onto 2 dvd's. Any suggestions?
    No cloud is perfect...

Default Re: backup to dvd program

i wonder if thats cause DVD is only 4.7gig. you'll need to spilt the files or use dual layer disks.
    Tweak it till it breaks

What OS are you using?

Winzip 10 Pro will backup to cd or DVD.

It looks like it zips whatever to cd or DVD.

And will also span across cd's or dvd's.

But it may only do this, once its registered.

I use a program called "Genie Backup Manager Pro" which I have been using for a few years now. The program will easily backup to multiple disks (2 are the most I have ever needed) and will also backup to other media.
    They also have a home edition available.

www.genie-soft.com/

hope this helps,
    Dave

Could just use a dual layer dvd.

"Censorship is telling a man he can't have a steak just because a baby can't chew it." - Mark Twain

Pedant and proud of it

I would not be happy with a single "backup" file which is that size. I assume it's compressed. What happens if you have a non-zero error rate? I know that the hard error rate for DVDs is claimed to be between 1 in 10^12 and 1 in 10^15. I don't believe them. A range of 3 orders of magnitude is not exactly reassuring. And if the range goes down, not up, you'd be in the 10^9 area. That is, seriously in the pooh.

Have you ever tried reading a backup file that size? Telecom found out a while ago that untested backups aren't backups at all. They loaded "improved" software in their exchanges. It didn't work. The backup tapes weren't readable. They lost half the North Island exchanges for quite a long time.