Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Question New Rig Question

    Hey guys, got the new rig yesterday, fully assembled it and all systems are go , well not quite

    1. How do I get it to connect to the internet? I have ADSL 2M over Ethernet it detects the connection but does nothing about it, no pages load.

    2. The GPU it is running at a steady 50C idle and 80C on max settings for NFSMW, is this ok? The GPU is an nVidia 7800GTX
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: New Rig Question

    Call your ISP and get them to check you are showing online corectly.
    Check Lan connection in network connections and select disable and then enable again and see if that helps.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whangaparaoa
    Posts
    1,646

    Default Re: New Rig Question

    I think graphics cards run quite hot, though that seems high. I have a 6800gs to compare it to which gets to 55 under load. I can only assume that the 7800gtx runs even higher since it is a more powerful card. Does anyone else here have a 7800gtx?

    That is one mean system. Do you mind saying how much it cost?
    Last edited by mejobloggs; 17-01-2006 at 09:49 AM.

  4. #4
    I shouldn't touch stuff.
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    115

    Default Re: New Rig Question

    The gfx card should live through that (as long as you dont play the game for extreme lengths of time)

    i think that nVidia have heat protection in place (your pc will probably either crash or shut down)
    Intel QX9650 3ghz quad core
    EVGA 790i Ultra SLi
    4gb OCZ 1800mhz RAM
    2x EVGA 9800GX2 SSC Edition
    2x WD Raptor 150gb (RAID0)
    4x 500gb Seagate Barracuda (2x RAID0)
    37" LG Scarlet @ 1920x1080
    Logitech Z-5500 5.1 505w

  5. #5
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: New Rig Question

    Its normal for the GPU - they run hotter than the CPU does.

  6. #6
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Cool Re: New Rig Question

    Quote Originally Posted by mejobloggs
    That is one mean system. Do you mind saying how much it cost?
    Yes it is VERY powerful , A little over the 3G mark

    Under the settings where I found the temp it says there is a threshold at 115C, so I am guessing it shuold be ok, although I think I will add another 2 case fans to get more cool air in
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whangaparaoa
    Posts
    1,646

    Default Re: New Rig Question

    What case and psu do you have?

  8. #8
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Cool Re: New Rig Question

    Raidmax Cobra, Black.

    Enermax Whisper II 535W,

    I will update it.

    EDIT: Updated
    Last edited by The_End_Of_Reality; 17-01-2006 at 10:16 AM. Reason: Updated
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  9. #9
    Mostly harmless member kingdragonfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Wellington NZ
    Posts
    1,066

    Default Re: New Rig Question

    If you're connecting to the Internet, please do yourself a favor and make sure your patches are up to date and put in place some kind of firewall.

    I've read articles that a unprotected windows PC can be infected in as little as 20 seconds.

    You may want to invest in a hardware based ADSL modem / firewall, around $125.

    Personally, I think anything over 80C is too hot. You may want to invest in Zalman's VGA cooler, though it'll obstruct one slot.

  10. #10
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Cool Re: New Rig Question

    I cant connect to the net, that is the problem, this is my parents comp, I have 2 firewalls, windows and nVidia, possibly hardware? and avg free AV, and I am going to update as soon as I can connect
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

Similar Threads

  1. WinTV200 Question...Just A Simple Question.....
    By SurferJoe46 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-05-2008, 03:40 PM
  2. Linux question - CD burning question
    By johcar in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-05-2007, 09:09 AM
  3. question #2
    By mymoogoescow in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-01-2006, 09:55 AM
  4. PSU Question
    By cold_fusion in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-12-2005, 11:03 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15-10-2004, 09:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •