Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: PSU Question

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Internet Prison
    Posts
    58

    Default PSU Question

    Hi,
    I'm just finishing off my new pc but I have a question about the PSU before I boot it up. The motherboard has a 24 pin connection but the power cable form the psu has a 20+4 connection, that is it hasa 20 pin plug and a 4 pin plug in a mesh sleve. So do I just plug both into the motherboard? Looking at the manual the pins on the extra plug match up to the spare 4 pins on the motherboard (voltage wise). Also it does have the extra 4 pin connector that plugs elsewhere on the motherboard.
    The power supply is a Task 520 W and the motherboard is ASUS A8N5X socket 939. Im fairly sure that this is what I'm ment to do but the psu came with no information on this and I really dont want to kill my new pc. Really.

    [edit]the psu is as this page, except it has a a 4 pin connector coming out of that black sleve with the mobo connector.[/edit]

    Thanks.
    Last edited by cold_fusion; 23-12-2005 at 07:43 AM.
    What's in your head? Zombie! Zombie!

  2. #2
    Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    7,419

    Default Re: PSU Question

    ur not confusing? bcos many m/boards have a 4 pin for the cpu fan as well. connect that up first .. and see what pins plugs u have left.

    had a look at link. u have 20pin to motherboard. 4 pin 12V is to CPU fan a diff connector on the m'board. 6 pin AUX, this is the PCI Express right? To me don't think u have that 24 pin, some I do know have a 20pin and a 4 pin that can be joined up, and a 4pin to cpu fan? Somebody can assist here...

    these are plugs u need
    http://www.enermax.com/english/Produ...ay1.asp?PrID=7
    Last edited by Nomad; 23-12-2005 at 09:52 AM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Internet Prison
    Posts
    58

    Default Re: PSU Question

    I am 100% sure that it is 24 pin, the psu has a 20 pin connector and a 4 pin connector coming off that.
    I booted it up now and it runs fine so I think I answered my own question. Thanks for the help.
    What's in your head? Zombie! Zombie!

Similar Threads

  1. WinTV200 Question...Just A Simple Question.....
    By SurferJoe46 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-05-2008, 02:40 PM
  2. Linux question - CD burning question
    By johcar in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-05-2007, 08:09 AM
  3. question #2
    By mymoogoescow in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-01-2006, 08:55 AM
  4. Nod 32 question
    By JJJJJ in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19-12-2005, 07:23 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15-10-2004, 08:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •