Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Default PC133 Memory Query

    HI there: Have an old ASUS P5-99VM motherboard. Has three slots , currently populated with two x sticks of 128MB PC100. Thought I would upgrade the last slot with a 256MB stick. Purchased PC133 (this is meant to work it out and step into line at 100 isn't it) and the computer is only picking up 384MB. Did a bit of mooching around and it looks like the Computer is picking up the 256Mb as 4x64 and therefore not coping with the 128MB.

    Have mixed and matched a little and am sure that this is not a slot dependent problem and that all of the sticks are in themselves functional. Each slot should cope with 256MB up to a system maximum of 768MB.

    Have I purchased the wrong type of PC133 or do I really have to go back and find some PC100?

    Thanks
    Scott

  2. #2
    Jedi master Rob99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In the wop wops
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: PC133 Memory Query

    Guessing that it is something to do with double/single side RAM.

    Your mobo may only support 3 sides of RAM
    Laziness is nothing more than the habit of resting before you get tired.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: PC133 Memory Query

    What version of Windows, is on it? And how many megs is the videocard?

    64 or 128mb?

    If its a 128mb videocard.

    Thats why u see 384 mb. 128+128+256 = 512 - 128 = 384

  4. #4

    Default Re: PC133 Memory Query

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales
    What version of Windows, is on it? And how many megs is the videocard?

    64 or 128mb?

    If its a 128mb videocard.

    Thats why u see 384 mb. 128+128+256 = 512 - 128 = 384
    Mother board has a whold 8MB of video memory on board. Don't think it actually shares system memory.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: PC133 Memory Query

    Hmm ok.

    Doesnt look like the mobo is the prob, as it looks like it supports up to 768 mb.

    And what version of Windows is installed on the computer??

  6. #6
    Jedi master Rob99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In the wop wops
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: PC133 Memory Query

    http://dlsvr01.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...p599vm-104.pdf

    Dosent matter what OS, how much RAM shows in the POST and BIOS
    Laziness is nothing more than the habit of resting before you get tired.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wellington Central
    Posts
    467

    Default Re: PC133 Memory Query

    You were right the first time.
    I have had experience with this stuff and matching the RAM is best, these boards do not much care for 'mix n match'.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,370

    Default Re: PC133 Memory Query

    Been there and done that! I currently run a 256MB stick as 128MB cos my secondary machine's older mobo (FIC VB-601) doesn't handle 8 chip 256's. My mobo docs say it takes 256 but when it was made they didn't have any to try so they just sort of hoped! There are 16 chip 256's that are supposed to be more compatible with older boards but I am not buying any more to experiment with. To add insult to injury, they are a fair bit dearer than modern ones!

  9. #9
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,769

    Default Re: PC133 Memory Query

    you will proberly find that it only handles 128 meg per side, 3 slots = 6 sides x 128 = 768meg total.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  10. #10

    Default Re: PC133 Memory Query

    HI all: Should have updated this some time ago. found the answer. Turns out my mo'board does not know about high density RAM and so the solution was to go for low density stuff. That is with chips on both sides. I was also able to source some that was only $9 +GST dearer. It is a tough job helping friends out isn't it.

    Thanks for all your help.

    Scott

    Quote Originally Posted by linw
    Been there and done that! I currently run a 256MB stick as 128MB cos my secondary machine's older mobo (FIC VB-601) doesn't handle 8 chip 256's. My mobo docs say it takes 256 but when it was made they didn't have any to try so they just sort of hoped! There are 16 chip 256's that are supposed to be more compatible with older boards but I am not buying any more to experiment with. To add insult to injury, they are a fair bit dearer than modern ones!

Similar Threads

  1. Memory query
    By Mateo1981 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-02-2008, 09:03 PM
  2. PC100 vs PC133 ram
    By sam m in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-01-2006, 04:45 PM
  3. Any surplus PC133 RAM around?
    By Atreides in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13-10-2005, 08:41 AM
  4. will PC133 Ram work?
    By robsonde in forum PressF1
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-05-2004, 11:42 PM
  5. PC133 RAM
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2001, 10:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •