Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Default Video Card for FlightSim

    While not as hungry as some of the latest games, my Flight Sim needs a good frame rate and along with the rest of my outdated gear (AMD 1700) I have pushed things about as far as I can go.

    I am looking at a specific deal but would like advice as to whether or not the 128Mb Leadtek GeForce 6600 GT DVI TV out PCI Express is likely to "cut the mustard."

    Also, I am tempted to import a "box" across the ditch from Oz, deal of the Month as reported in PC User. Has anyone else done this.. I realise the potential problem with service and warranties etc.

  2. #2
    Fat Person lagbort's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    wellington
    Posts
    346

    Default Re: Video Card for FlightSim

    It will very much 'cut the mustard' for flight sim but you will need to look for an AGP version not PCI express as no AMD1700 system will have PCI express slots, but will have a 99% chance of having an AGP slot.
    Q6600 @ 3.33GHZ | Asus P5K Premium Wifi/AP | 4GB DDR2-800 | 8800gt 512mb | ~1Tb HDD space

  3. #3
    Senior Member memphis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In A Building
    Posts
    830

    Smile Re: Video Card for FlightSim

    check out www.pricespy.co.nz for computer component prices.

    Agp 8x card 6600gt 256mb,$369.85

    Sata harddrive whatever size you want/can afford.

    Sound card:Creative Audigy 2 zs $132.30.

    Memory at least 2 x 512mb ddr400 for good gaming more the better for gaming and will along with the graphic card help make up for the cpu.

  4. #4
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default Re: Video Card for FlightSim

    You don't mention which flight Sim you are useing.
    I have MS Flight Sim 2004 and have been playing around with it for months trying to et the best picture.
    Firstly you do not need more than 20 fps. This is the default and increasing it does nothing to improve anything.
    I am useing a Radeon 9800 pro at present and at around $400 it is good value for money.
    I have all my adjustments set for maximum quality. Anti-aliasing,and anistropic filtering set to max
    Theoreticly it should be perfect, but I still get a bit of a shimmer.
    I think performance depends on how much you are prepared to spend. The Gforce 660 card is about the same quality as mine. Good,but could be better.
    Jack GOF.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Video Card for FlightSim

    Thyanks for the replies - I should have been more explicit...

    I'm using FS2004, although have been thru all the versions over the years - I now have about 7 gig of Mesh Sceneries, and addons. My frame rate is normally just OK but can start to skip a bit on certain load-ups.

    I intend to replace my entire CPU as had a ram failure a while back which has left me a bit short..... I'm happy enough on this side of the problem but lack knowledge in the Video Card area - research only seemed to confuse the issue. I probably only need a good medium range card for my interests, I have no interest in the Unreal Tournament, Doom type stuff.

  6. #6
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: Video Card for FlightSim

    I intend to replace my entire CPU as had a ram failure a while back which has left me a bit short

    hmmm..........cpu:

    http://202.21.128.20/photoserver/34/13649234_full.jpg

    computer:

    http://202.21.128.20/photoserver/52/13649252_full.jpg


    ;-)
    There are two sides to any question; MY side and the WRONG side (Winston Churchill)

  7. #7
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Video Card for FlightSim

    Quote Originally Posted by drcspy
    Just built a PC with one of these - AMD 3500+, 1Gb in dual, 250Gb, 6600GT-256mb.

    For a business, hehe

  8. #8
    Senior Member Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wish You Were Here
    Posts
    7,597

    Default Re: Video Card for FlightSim

    I run FS 2004 on a P4 2.53ghz 533fsb, 1gb of 2100 DDR ram, with a SB Live Audigy2 ZS soundcard and a Leadtek FX 6800 LE TDH 128mb graphics card. Works fine for me.
    Have add on scenery etc.

    Trevor

  9. #9

    Default Re: Video Card for FlightSim

    Thanks Trev,

    If it wouldn't run on that it would be fit for the MS Rubbish Bin of Fame....

    Baz

  10. #10
    {Blank}
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Brooklyn, Wellington
    Posts
    201

    Default Re: Video Card for FlightSim

    I play 2004 on my familys 64mb Geforce 4MX card no probs, and 2002 on my Matrox 8mb card with no porbs at all - though there obviously not at the highest quility.

    Daniel
    I have enough money to last me the rest
    of my life
    Unless I spend it

Similar Threads

  1. Video card doesn't fit.
    By Ron40 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17-07-2007, 06:32 PM
  2. AGP vs PCI video card
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28-09-2004, 03:20 PM
  3. Another Big Patch - Flightsim
    By bazmeister in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21-09-2004, 09:29 AM
  4. Video/TV capture card vs graphics card.
    By Gerard P in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-03-2004, 08:56 PM
  5. PCI Video card
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14-06-2002, 08:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •