Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Block flash

  1. #1
    Charlier Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    132

    Default Block flash

    Hi hello..
    how do i go about blocking all flash/swf's on a particular site i.e. stuff.co.nz using firefox?
    anyone know
    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,856

    Default Re: Block flash

    Delete the flash plugin?

    Or something that blocks ads?

    Or this

    http://ww.panicware.com - pop up stopper free version

    http://www.analogx.com - POW - free

    http://www.admuncher.com - Admuncher - free

  3. #3
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,227

    Default Re: Block flash

    Proximitron web filter.

    Browser indepentant, fully configurable, uses next to nil resources, one click bypass, makes browsing more secure, faster, kills off clutter and crapola.

    Im on a proximitron drive at the mo, its so damn good people should be forced to run it.
    better Dredd then dead

  4. #4
    Charlier Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: Block flash

    Oh yes thanks. If i were to delete the plugin, flash would stop working on alll sites wouldent it so thats prob not the best option, ummm

    The flash "ads" on stuff arnt really pop up, ff catches all them.

    i have the nice hosts file can i put something in there to block swf's on stuff.co.nz
    i tried acvs.mediaonenetwork.net and ads.nz.doubleclick.net but they all seem to still come up. tho the page takes along time to come up...
    ill try some of the other adblockers, thanks

  5. #5
    Charlier Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: Block flash

    It works yay thanks
    wow that proximitron is great i saw it years ago just too lazy to try, everyone should use it.. thanks
    and that http://www.analogx.com has some great software everyone should go have a look..
    thank you

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,705

    Default Re: Block flash

    Quote Originally Posted by Metla
    Proximitron web filter.

    Browser indepentant, fully configurable, uses next to nil resources, one click bypass, makes browsing more secure, faster, kills off clutter and crapola.

    Im on a proximitron drive at the mo, its so damn good people should be forced to run it.
    I don't have any experience of Proximitron but there are many adverse comments about it on forums such as the one below.
    Seems like you just about need to be a computer tech to be able to configure it to do what you want it to do.

    Quote
    Well, I tried Proximitron for about 3 hours and for the life of me, I couldn't get it to do ANYTHING I wanted it to do. Now I'm a smart guy - I write software, games - I aced the military ASVAB, and my I.Q. was ranked at 139 - but obviously this software is a pain in the ass to use.


    Hah, well, we are of like mind then (though my I.Q. is only 130). I tried Proxomitron several times, and never understood all the raving. I just could not stand that awful interface design. People like Proxomitron because it's free, which is frequently the case. Never mind that things like Ad Muncher work better and are a hell of a lot easier to use. But of course OperaAdFilter has advantages of both of them.

  7. #7
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,227

    Default Re: Block flash

    pffft.

    It requires 1 very well documented entry into the browser config, and after that the default setup is perfect untill the user pinpoints specific items they wish to stop.

    easy as pie, and the person you quoted should be banned from computer and forums, nothing worse then a clutz claiming hes is a clever cookie and blaming the software.
    better Dredd then dead

  8. #8
    Charlier Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: Block flash

    Sure its a little different to use but surely it cant be that hard for anyone, all ya do is turn it on and set up the proxy, worked very well for me. i wouldent cal myself a beginner in any way tho.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Block flash

    All you need to do with Firefox to stop flash loading is to go to the Firefox extensions site and locate and install Flashblock. After that they come up as a blank with an arrow in the middle. That gives you the option of playing the flash if you want to - just click on the arrow and the flash will load and play. Some websites only have flash on their homepage for example and you need to be able to play it to navigate onwards.

    https://addons.mozilla.org/extensions/ and search for flashblock.

    Adblock is worth having as well. It will deal to all those "acvs.mediaonenetwork.net" and "ads.nz.doubleclick.net" annoyances you mention.
    Last edited by John H; 10-09-2005 at 11:33 PM.

  10. #10
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,227

    Default Re: Block flash

    Proximitron spanks adblock, flashblock, the firefox pop-up bloacker and takes the places of many extensions,as well as covering huge areas where no extension yet goes.

    Plus its browser indepentant, spanks them all, guts em,and hangs em to dry.

    No need for all those extension bloating up your browser,and leaving placeholdes,tabs, and asking for manual intervention to block ad-servers.

    As some of you may have noticed the dev behind Proxi dropped dead a few years back and the programmed stalled, a cunning group have releanched it and renamed it Proximodo, new interface and a breakdown of ebery option is provided if you want to get under the hood....
    better Dredd then dead

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25-04-2007, 10:00 AM
  2. CDs block wireless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    By theother1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2005, 07:11 PM
  3. Cd rom has a bad block.....a bad what!!??
    By jase12 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-02-2004, 02:30 PM
  4. Block a port
    By heni72847 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15-11-2003, 08:55 PM
  5. Block Pornography
    By csinclair83 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-08-2003, 06:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •