Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    8

    Default Start Up Problem

    When my computer powers up, it always freezes just after the RAM test. Pressing Reset gets it going again, and it's happy from that point. Any ideas?

    I have P4 (2.6) on an Asus M/B and 2 hard drives in a Raid 0 config.

  2. #2
    blank space
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Northland
    Posts
    1,796

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    No expert am I, but once it gets going I would first run the maintenance in Safe Mode (thorough) and then (if that didn't fix it ) reboot to Safe mode and run Spybot S&D and AdAware (anti-malware programs)(see the FAQs) and if that didn't fix it I would look for Memtest. No really I would post here at Pressf1 but try the first two first..

  3. #3
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,211

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    It won't be spyware because no OS is even running at that point, just the BIOS handling the boot up sequence (POST). Have you checked to make sure your RAM is fully seated in the slots? Are there any beeps?

    Welcome to PressF1 as well.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    RAM seems fine - the result of the RAM test just happens to be on screen at the freeze point. Once I press the reset button the PC restarts and boots succesfully.

    The PC also comes in and out of standby, suspend, hiberation ok and will restart will no issues. The problem only occurs when I cold boot by turning the power on (which I don't do often due to this annoying problem).

    I have also tried a BIOS upgrade but that didn't help. The next part of the POST is the RAID config - I wonder if the problem lies here?

  5. #5
    blank space
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Northland
    Posts
    1,796

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    Have you thought about, " what did I do just b4 this problem started"?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Godzone
    Posts
    482

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by patchonline
    RAM seems fine - the result of the RAM test just happens to be on screen at the freeze point. Once I press the reset button the PC restarts and boots succesfully.

    The PC also comes in and out of standby, suspend, hiberation ok and will restart will no issues. The problem only occurs when I cold boot by turning the power on (which I don't do often due to this annoying problem).

    I have also tried a BIOS upgrade but that didn't help. The next part of the POST is the RAID config - I wonder if the problem lies here?
    The result of the RAM test may not be the same as what I may assume.
    Have you run Memtest 86 on the RAM?
    Why are you using hibernation?

    What motherboard have you got? This is important to know. Make and model please. Run Everest or AIDA to get a report which will help without opening the case on your system.

    This may just be a problem with the computer trying to boot with a hard drive that has not yet got into motion. You mention that you have two hard drives in a raid array.

    I have read the question and can even comprehend.

    Hope we can help.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,364

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by patchonline
    The next part of the POST is the RAID config - I wonder if the problem lies here?
    That is very possible. I had problems with booting up recently and it turned out to be something wrong with the hard drive connection.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    Thanks all

    I have tested the memory - all ok
    I have checked that the SATA cables are firmly attached - no issues

    I think the RAID may not be ready when the POST finishes - can't see any options in the BIOS to slow things down. I have a Asus P4P800 m/b

    Any other ideas?

  9. #9
    Member beama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    where eye patches are worn with pride
    Posts
    1,725

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    Faulty usb devices can cause this also. If any are plugged in at boot unplug then try again.

    ( dumb question time)

    Is usb boot enabled and have you left your thumb drive plugged in?
    Trust me. I know what I'm doing.Sledge Hammer

    Linux the only way to get rid of the windows boot sector virus ( Geoff Palmer , Jun 28, 2004 Tips & Help : Tux Love, PCWorld NZ)

    Parkinsons NZ


  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Start Up Problem

    Hmm I have the same mobo (non-deluxe).

    Which version of the mobo have u got? Non deluxe or deluxe?

    Umm any reason why you have to run in RAID 0?? Coz if one dies, the other dies too.

    And I take it both the hdds are the same brand/size etc?

    Is it set to compatibilty mode or enhanced mode in the BIOS?

    What version of windows is installed??

    If enhanced mode, whats this on? P-ATA+S-ATA? P-ATA? S-ATA?

Similar Threads

  1. Start Up Problem
    By Bantu in forum PressF1
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 19-03-2008, 02:08 PM
  2. Start up problem
    By RoyG in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 31-07-2005, 04:33 PM
  3. another start up problem
    By rach in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 24-06-2005, 10:13 AM
  4. XP----PRE Start Up problem
    By nav2u in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-05-2003, 07:58 AM
  5. Start up problem
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14-04-2001, 06:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •