Default Dual Booting Windows XP HE and Fedora Core 2

Hey,

I have never installed Fedora Core before I did install Red Hat once but that was on a computer which did not have an OS. I am completely new to linux.

Anyway I would like to dual boot Fedora Core 2 and Windows XP HE on my Laptop. I have two drives one is C which is 27.4 GB and windows resides on it and the other is D which is empty and is approximately 10 GB.

I intend to install FC on the D drive. The thing which worries me is that I have read a lot about FC's boot loader GRUB not working properly that is not allowing to boot into XP.

Would this be a problem for me, since from what I have read it has happen so far to all the people who have partioned there hard drive.

Any advice?

P.S Can someone explain to me what a "swap" is meant by. I have heard talked about it often.

Such as "I created a primary partion (15 GB) in ext3 format and 500MB swap."
    What does swap mean and what is "ext3 format"?

HAVE A NICE DAY
    Last edited by thenzengineer; 05-08-2005 at 11:00 PM.

Default Re: Dual Booting Windows XP HE and Fedora Core 2

You should install the bootloader to a floppy if your computer has one, untill you are happy and confident with linux.

What are your primary uses?

Check out the Linux for laptops site (the url excapes me at the mo), to see what distro will best suit your brand amd model.

IMO, Core 2 is getting a bit long in the tooth and isn't quite as friendly as later versions or other distributions. A full install of Fedora is also quite large, you can trim it down depending on your software requirements.

I have a very small bias towards Mepis 3.3.1-1, which has some great tools for laptops, is dead easy to install and is a live CD which can be run from your CD drive to try it out (doesn't touch your hard drive, no grub, no files).