Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Lower Hutt
    Posts
    3

    Default X and resolution forcing

    Evening

    I have an Asus Z8100L laptop from Dick Smiths. I have a dual boot with XP and currently Fedora 3.

    I have a problem because the Silicon Integrated Systems video card is not necessarily detected and apparently X thinks it should not be a resolution higher than 800 x600 and I want 1024x768.

    I had someone have a look at it and they changed the config file under ?/x11? and it worked but I have no idea what they did. I have had to reinstall the installation and the problem has happened again.

    Im not sure what info you guys would need to help with this but if you reply with what info you would need to help me out I can post this for you.

    Thanks in advance

    Richard

  2. #2
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: X and resolution forcing

    Open a konsole/gnome-terminal and run:
    su -
    *enter root pw*
    xorgconfig

    You can specify what resolutions you want, what depth etc


    Chill.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  3. #3
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,214

    Default Re: X and resolution forcing

    Quote Originally Posted by kiwirik2001
    I had someone have a look at it and they changed the config file under ?/x11? and it worked but I have no idea what they did.
    For your interest, the X server that Fedora uses is Xorg. The configuration file is found here: /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Similar Threads

  1. Forcing a program to run in windowed mode?
    By Fatjoz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23-06-2008, 10:10 PM
  2. forcing program to run in window
    By dirtbag in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29-01-2006, 06:36 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-07-2004, 02:28 AM
  4. Forcing Win95 to dial internet
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-12-2001, 08:32 PM
  5. Forcing WinME to enable DMA?
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-02-2001, 04:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •