Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Go Back

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    North Shore
    Posts
    121

    Default Go Back

    I am about to change my OS from 98E to XP Home I currently have Go Back installed and it has got me out of trouble on numerous occaions. If I install it with XP will it conflict with System Restore ? I have heard that System Restore has limitations and as I know Goback I would prefer to use it if possible, if and when I need to.

  2. #2
    Almost ReMember Scouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Tasman District
    Posts
    2,311

    Default Re: Go Back

    Hi Wilbry. I moved from 98SE to XP Pro and the version of GOBACK I had been using with 98 would not function on my new XP. As I started to load the XP, it identified several existing programmes that it didn't like and GOBACK was in the list. Mind you, so was Works 4.5, but after loading XP, I was able to reload Works and it runs well. Odd. I've used Restore several times without problems.

  3. #3
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Go Back

    Quote Originally Posted by willbry
    I am about to change my OS from 98E to XP Home I currently have Go Back installed and it has got me out of trouble on numerous occaions. If I install it with XP will it conflict with System Restore ? I have heard that System Restore has limitations and as I know Goback I would prefer to use it if possible, if and when I need to.
    Goback 4.0 is available for WinXP.
    System restore restores the SYSTEM, but not your personal stuff. Its good but not magic. Neither would GoBack be either though although I see it has an undelete feature. On the other hand its Nortons so that puts me off for a start.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Massey, Dorkland
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: Go Back

    Your 98 version of Goback wont work with xp.
    I agree Goback is the bizzo you can destroy your computer and all you have to do is push the reset button and hit space bar. Saved me more times I can remember. I always wondered why this program wasnt lauded so much. I suppose because it puts geeks out of work.

    tedheath

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    North Shore
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: Go Back

    Thanks Scouse, pckk and ted heath for your replies. It's clear I won't be able to use Go Back with the new OS. but it was fantastic if I had lost a document or made an irretrievable muckup. I wasn't aware that S. Restore couldn't retrieve oeronal data , but I suppose XP will have so many other advantages not the least stability. I'm always having system freezes with 98 . Anyway thanks guys.
    Cheers willbry

  6. #6
    Frank and Earnest. Cicero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Waikanae
    Posts
    17,469

    Default Re: Go Back

    I have GoBack 3 on XP and it works well.
    "The life of the dead is placed in the memory of the living." Cicero

Similar Threads

  1. How much would a PC like this set me back?
    By Motokid600 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 12-01-2007, 08:50 AM
  2. Back to IE. Am I Odd?
    By Terry Porritt in forum PressF1
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 03-09-2004, 01:04 AM
  3. Re We back
    By merlin-nz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31-08-2004, 10:04 AM
  4. We back
    By merlin-nz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31-08-2004, 09:49 AM
  5. When is "Chao is back " back??? CMV CT-722D
    By Cajetan in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2003, 06:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •