Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    perpetual newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    506

    Default Telecom Network Status

    As you are (probably) aware telecom's network DSL went down today, and I am sick of having to go to a 3rd party (my isp) to find out what is happening on the network of the people I pay for my internet.

    Does anyone know if telecom has as DSL status page?

  2. #2
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: Telecom Network Status

    Does anyone know if telecom has as DSL status page?........hahahahah.........(cynical laughter)........ah.......well.....their phone service also claimed 'there are no known faults on the service'.....lmfao......
    There are two sides to any question; MY side and the WRONG side (Winston Churchill)

  3. #3
    perpetual newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    506

    Default Re: Telecom Network Status

    Quote Originally Posted by drcspy
    phone service also claimed 'there are no known faults on the service'
    Yeah.. well, that statement has never been correct as far as I am aware :-]

  4. #4
    Senior Member Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wish You Were Here
    Posts
    7,597

    Default Re: Telecom Network Status

    My ADSL connection through Actrix wasn't down at all today. I live in Napier. For thoughs who don't know Actrix is based in Wellington.

    Trevor

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    230

    Default Re: Telecom Network Status

    Quote Originally Posted by Trev
    My ADSL connection through Actrix wasn't down at all today. I live in Napier. For thoughs who don't know Actrix is based in Wellington.

    Trevor
    I got of sick when i was with paradise and had jetstream trouble they would tell me to go to telecom and telecom would tell me to go to..well, u can guess

    so i thought %$#^ it and swapped my isp to xtra...all has been well since then ...and my speed has suspicously increased...

    ..sell your soul to the great satan (xtra) i say...

  6. #6
    Senior Member Big John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The Naki
    Posts
    448

    Default Re: Telecom Network Status

    Quote Originally Posted by qyiet
    As you are (probably) aware telecom's network DSL went down today, and I am sick of having to go to a 3rd party (my isp) to find out what is happening on the network of the people I pay for my internet.

    Does anyone know if telecom has as DSL status page?
    Mine was up all day. I use the Telecom DSL but log on through Paradise.

  7. #7
    asdfasdf
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    fdsafdsa
    Posts
    408

    Default Re: Telecom Network Status

    Quote Originally Posted by Trev
    For thoughs who don't know Actrix is based in Wellington.
    That doesn't make any difference - your DSL modem dials the nearest DSL capable exchange, to maximise line quality. There, it is multiplexed into a trunk line where it sent to the internet via the global gateway, in Auckland.

  8. #8
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Telecom Network Status

    Quote Originally Posted by Big John
    Mine was up all day. I use the Telecom DSL but log on through Paradise.
    And so do I - but mine went down about 10:30am and was back up about 5pm.

  9. #9
    Cruising Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: Telecom Network Status

    And if you had of gone to the xtra home page, it told you what services were down, and it included broadband and dial up, some home lines, mobiles, and the areas affected were, 03 area code
    04 area code
    06 area code
    07 area code
    09 area code
    Well that was according to the xtra.co.nz site anyway.

  10. #10
    perpetual newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    506

    Default Re: Telecom Network Status

    Quote Originally Posted by supergran
    And if you had of gone to the xtra home page, it told you what services were down, and it included broadband and dial up, some home lines, mobiles, and the areas affected were, 03 area code
    04 area code
    06 area code
    07 area code
    09 area code
    Well that was according to the xtra.co.nz site anyway.
    Thanks, I found that, maxnet, and inspire.net's status pages.

    Xtra was reporting "no known problems on their network" for at least an hour after the problem started. Maxnet and inspire.net did their best, but you could tell it was mostly guesswork on their part.

    Xtra was also reporting the problem you as described for about 2 hours after it was fixed as well.

    The problem with all of those is they are person 2 talking about person 1's thing. They all get the information 2nd hand, and take a while to pass it onto person 3 (the end users)

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless network connection status
    By DavidW in forum PressF1
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 13-04-2007, 04:55 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22-11-2006, 10:56 PM
  3. telecom coverage network
    By csinclair83 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27-02-2004, 06:16 PM
  4. Kinda OT: Telecom Txting network
    By csinclair83 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 30-01-2004, 09:36 PM
  5. Clear = NO Network Status page
    By Hissyfit in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23-04-2003, 10:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •