Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: External HDD

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    283

    Question External HDD

    Hi there!
    Got myself a HDD Seagate 40GB with external enclousure. People say that with XP it is a must to install SP2, or it won't work Tried to download from Microsoft site and nothing happens. Is it free or what? And is it really necessary?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    283

    Question External HDD

    Hi there!
    Got myself a HDD Seagate 40GB with external enclousure. People say that with XP it is a must to install SP2, or it won't work Tried to download from Microsoft site and nothing happens. Is it free or what? And is it really necessary?
    Thanks

  3. #3
    Jedi master Rob99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In the wop wops
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: External HDD

    Hopefully this answers your question.

    You should be able to plug that device into any version of windows from ME onwards, and it should self detect, if the file system is Fat32, if it is NTFS it will only work with Win2000 onwards, dosent matter about SP2.

    SP2 is free and can be downloaded through windows update. Or can be ordered on a CD from Microsoft.
    Laziness is nothing more than the habit of resting before you get tired.

  4. #4
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,224

    Default Re: External HDD

    If SP2 is not being offered to you on the Windows Update site, then you probably already have it. If you go to Control Panel > System, under the General tab you should see your operating system version listed and +SP2 if it is installed.


    Note, I've merged your duplicate threads you had created.

  5. #5
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: External HDD

    It works on any O/S that supports USB. Win98 too. The difference with the older O/Ss is you will need to install the driver. The rest it sorts it itself.
    SP2 (or SP1a) for that matter is for USB 2 support. If you have an older MB then USB 2 came as a motherboard driver. The newer motherboards don't include it, SP1a or SP2 (doesn't matter which) enables USB 2 for you.
    Without it, the drive still works fine but only at USB1.1 speeds.

    I have found its best to connect the hard drive to the PC via IDE and partition/format etc first. Then set it as master and put it in the enclosure.
    Most useful too, I use mine all the time. And got an oldish Seagate and enclosure for my Father as well so he can use it to back stuff up as he wasn't keen on messing about burning to CDs.
    Theres also a USB adapter you can get (USB to IDE), handy if you don't want the drive permanently in an enclosure. And as with them all, comes with a driver for older O/Ss.
    Oh and its irrelevant whether you format it FAt32 or NTFS.
    Win XP formatted in Fat32 will read NTFS. But Win98 won't is the only catch there.
    Last edited by pctek; 15-06-2005 at 08:37 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    283

    Default Re: External HDD

    Hi PCTEC!
    Installed hdd as a slave inside and getting a message "Error1327. Invalid driveE:\". The dive enabled and working properly, according to device manager. But it show under "MY COMPUTER" as WDCAC13200B, while the drive is ST340014A. My PC is Athlon XP 1.2Ghz, MOBO Aopen XPhome OS.
    There was slave drive, also Seagate ST32140A and was ok.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    283

    Default Re: External HDD

    Hi! HDD detected ok, WDC is my master and Western Digital. Message with error probably relates to replased slave.
    There is another message after detected IE drives:"no 80 cable installed."
    Does it relate to ribbon cable?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: External HDD

    Yup thats what it means.

    You need an IDE cable with a blue connection on one end. Which plugs into the motherboard IDE connection.

    As shown by the pic here

    http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/if/id...Cable80-c.html

  9. #9
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: External HDD

    To clarify further:
    IDE 40 cables have 40 wires. IDE 80 has 80 wires, if you compare them side by side you see the 40 looks "chunkier" sort of thing. It doesn't matter especially if you are not leaving it in there.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    283

    Default Re: External HDD

    Hi guys! All systems go, just as u said! Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. External Mic for HV-20
    By aonghas in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28-05-2008, 07:08 AM
  2. external hdd
    By steamman in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16-04-2006, 09:03 PM
  3. External HDD
    By Fergie in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-09-2005, 06:22 PM
  4. External HD
    By pico in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-03-2005, 08:57 AM
  5. External HDD
    By csinclair83 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-01-2004, 03:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •