Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    290

    Default power and cat5e UTP interference

    Hey guys,
    I'm just running some cat5e UTP cable through my house and its my luck that the only place in can go is next to a nice, juicy 240V power cable. It is running together for about 10m or so until it gets to where it needs to. Now my question, will this create interference (or much) that will kill the performance? I don't really care too much about the speed as it'll be running at 100mb, as long as most of the data gets there (well 2mb for you-know-what).

    I've done a bit of googling and some guys in the UK seem to have no trouble with running them parallel, but then again who knows. Anyone here tested this, know of any problems?

    Thanks,
    David

  2. #2
    Senior Member godfather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Central New Munster
    Posts
    3,053

    Default Re: power and cat5e UTP interference

    DEpends entirely on the type of 230v cable and the load in the cable.

    EMI from mains is dependent on 230v cable type and the current carried.

    Impossible to answer without those details.

    Its not kosher to have these circuits in close proximity, from a Regulatory perspective unless the Cat 5e has double insulation.... but that is a separate issue.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    290

    Default Re: power and cat5e UTP interference

    It says 1080.1 TPC Cable 2.5mm core + earth, what ever that means! I just put the wires where they fit Its just a cable coming from the fuse box into one of the rooms.
    - David
    Last edited by DangerousDave; 07-06-2005 at 10:35 PM.

  4. #4
    X Tech pheonix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    RotoVegas
    Posts
    476

    Default Re: power and cat5e UTP interference

    That size cable is what they run to all your power outlets on the walls. It is not good practice to do what you want, either, as mentioned previously, because of the faint possibility of contact with the mains voltage via overheated cable or a wayward nail, or from the noise perspective.

    If possible keep it at least 300mm away from the mains cable. Where practical of course. As for the interference angle, I shouldn't see that as a problem apart from when operating a device, using that mains cable, puts interference down the cable. Such things as arc welders and power tools.
    Ever stop to think, and forgot to start again?

  5. #5
    6146-B Billy T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    6,887

    Default Re: power and cat5e UTP interference

    Quote Originally Posted by pheonix
    If possible keep it at least 300mm away from the mains cable. Where practical of course. As for the interference angle, I shouldn't see that as a problem apart from when operating a device, using that mains cable, puts interference down the cable. Such things as arc welders and power tools.
    It is switching transients that will corupt your data, and you don't need welders or power tools to create those. Running 10M in parallel is too long and too close for comfort. Induction effects don't just corrupt data, they can also damage your computer, in this case the cards at either end of the run.

    Regulatory issues aside, your decision will depend on how important your data is, and how lucky you feel.

    I wouldn't do it.

    Cheers

    Billy 8-{)
    Some days it's not even worth chewing through my restraints!

  6. #6
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: power and cat5e UTP interference

    Having done structured cabling for a living once I can tell you if that was done heads would roll.
    You could install a wiring tray thing, I forget the proper name, run the cables through it...

  7. #7
    X Tech pheonix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    RotoVegas
    Posts
    476

    Default Re: power and cat5e UTP interference

    This is a domestic dwelling, not a commercial enterprise so he can roll his own head. The cablers use wire-loop hangers now as tray is very expensive.

    As for data corruption, thats the wonderful thing with tcp/ip, in that it will re-send the data. It is the standard over the Internet,and networkin, which encompasses satallite, and hence a lot more trouble from atmospherics than any domestic mains wire.

    Now in an ideal world, we would take off the wall linings and drill new holes through the studs and dwangs, but I haven't met a house owner yet, who's willing to pay the extra. Or remove a roofing panel and drill down through the dwangs. Again most home owners will baulk at the extra cost. Mind you concrete tiles make this easy. Underneath the house is where it is normally run, except with concrete floors.

    In the real world, sometimes an experienced judgement call is required, so standards cannot be strictly adhered to. I admit that your 10 metres is considered a "long" run with mains cable. As I have stated, you can minimise this risk by running the cable at least 300mm away from the mains run between stud holes.

    It is really up to the original poster to make the choice, as he can see where it is able to be run, and what risk he is willing to take with the information posted.
    Ever stop to think, and forgot to start again?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    290

    Default Re: power and cat5e UTP interference

    hmmm, thanks for the info guy.

    I'll try reduce the distance but I don't think I can do any better than 7 or so meters. Either way the plugs only have a computer and tv on the entire line, nothing like welders!

    I'll just see what happens

    - David

  9. #9
    Senior Member godfather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Central New Munster
    Posts
    3,053

    Default Re: power and cat5e UTP interference

    TVs can create a large transient on turn-on. The instantaneous inrush current is very large and lasts only for a few milliseconds, but its quite a nasty load type in that respect.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    347

    Default Re: power and cat5e UTP interference

    Can you not go wireless?

Similar Threads

  1. Cat5e Junction Point
    By Ash M in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-10-2007, 01:26 PM
  2. Networking Cables Cat5e vs Cat6
    By Old Family in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-03-2006, 06:57 PM
  3. Distance vs Speed of the Cat5e cable?
    By Groovvy in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-03-2006, 05:34 PM
  4. CAT5 CAT5e CAT6? confusing
    By fus1_n in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-08-2004, 07:01 PM
  5. Wiring Ethernet CAT5e Cables...
    By JamesStewart in forum PressF1
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-05-2003, 06:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •