Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4

    Default Microsoft media Centre installation

    I am endeavouring to install the above application onto a computer.

    the installation runs normally until I get to a point where I am asked to insert the CD "windows XP professional SP2", I do this and press enter and a box appears that has D:\i386 and it is looking for a file called "iexplore".

    At this point I press OK and the box reappears and tells me and cannot find the file. The D. drive is in the CD-ROM drive. I have looked at the Windows service Pack CD and there is no folder called I386. when I searched the CD there is no file called "iexplore".

    I have compared the file structure on my service Pack 2CDwith a friends copy and they are both identical.

    I thought that I could bypass this step and install service Pack 2 after installing Windows XP. the Windows installation was complete Internet Explorer was not available. when I click the icon on the desktop a box appears asking me what program I want to use to open it. It appears that there is no Internet Explorer loaded. I also have no installer that will allow me to install and other program. See my other post yesterday.

    Any Help Appreciated.

  2. #2
    Senior Member 4bes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    223

    Default Re: Microsoft media Centre installation

    It's probably looking for the full version of windows XP Pro including service pack 2, not just the service pack 2 disk.
    I haven't grown up yet, I've just learnt how to behave in public

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    134

    Default Re: Microsoft media Centre installation

    Media Center is only supposed to be sold to OEMs as it is a lot more difficult to build a Media Center PC than to install a copy of Windows XP.
    If your pavilion was a media center PC then it should come with a recovery CD. If not then I suggest you don't try it.

    If you really want to build a roll your own one I suggest you check out
    www.thegreenbutton.com

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Microsoft media Centre installation

    Thanks for the advice, sounds good to me. I have just installed plain old XP and it went smoothly..

    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Media centre on Xbox 360
    By Greven in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-07-2008, 10:08 PM
  2. Media Centre infra-red
    By Myth in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-01-2008, 04:04 PM
  3. Setting up a media centre with Media Portal
    By KiwiLinc in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23-05-2006, 12:55 PM
  4. Media Centre PC
    By The_End_Of_Reality in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18-12-2005, 07:33 AM
  5. Media Centre Hardware: PC to TV
    By unbiasedadventure in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 31-08-2004, 09:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •