Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Charlier Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    132

    Default linux and modems

    so how do i go about getting a winmodem working in linux
    does anyone know
    im currently working with suse 9.2...
    with a conexant 56k hcf data fax modem and a softv92 data fax modem
    can ya auctually get a winmodem workin in linux...
    How do ya go about it?
    thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wellingtion
    Posts
    540

    Default Re: linux and modems

    Quote Originally Posted by jackrulz
    so how do i go about getting a winmodem working in linux
    does anyone know
    im currently working with suse 9.2...
    with a conexant 56k hcf data fax modem and a softv92 data fax modem
    can ya auctually get a winmodem workin in linux...
    How do ya go about it?
    thanks
    You can get a winmodem working in linux i just dont know how
    I know pcworld done a article on it a wile ago (over a year)
    If you can find that it may help
    English? Who needs that? I'm never going to England!

  3. #3
    Y'arrr
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sailing the seven ISP's
    Posts
    1,647

    Default Re: linux and modems

    http://www.linmodems.org/
    http://www.linuxant.com/company/

    Have fun. I got the one in my Laptop running no problems.
    There are no such things as ghosts, only clumsy ninjas.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,783

    Default Re: linux and modems

    hhhmm i had a good go at this, i gave up at the end, an serial external modem will work with straight away with no problems.

  5. #5

    Default Re: linux and modems

    The first port of call is Linmodems and download the scanModem program. Running this will give you some suggested drivers that may make your modem work under linux.

  6. #6
    Charlier Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: linux and modems

    scanmodem says both are conexant so thats stink as, thers only that linuxant which costs like $25..
    and i tried to install the 14.4k version it opens up in konqorer thingee and then i click install with yast, it goes in i click install, then it says cannot find package on medium..
    it would help if the "Install from this directory in Yast" button wasnt grayed out...

  7. #7

    Default Re: linux and modems

    What type of package did you download? Is it one of the rpm.zip files or the .run type?

    If you have downloaded the zip you will need to gunzip/ark it prior to installing. The .run file is an installation script and will need to be run from the terminal as root with the ./ before it.

    You may already have installed it, but there is an rpm installer for konqueror which from memory is kconfigure. This might help a bit in the future.

  8. #8
    Over 65
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Feilding
    Posts
    137

    Cool Re: linux and modems

    I've had the same problem with a Lucent Winmodem. Have just installed Mandrake 10.1 and got the system going. Printer was fine but struck problems with the modem. This morning, I went out to the shed and rescued an external modem from the dusty shelf. That is now working fine

  9. #9
    Charlier Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: linux and modems

    Quote Originally Posted by Simply_Si
    What type of package did you download? Is it one of the rpm.zip files or the .run type?

    If you have downloaded the zip you will need to gunzip/ark it prior to installing. The .run file is an installation script and will need to be run from the terminal as root with the ./ before it.

    You may already have installed it, but there is an rpm installer for konqueror which from memory is kconfigure. This might help a bit in the future.
    Um yea its a rpm file i unzipped it in windoes got the rpm, booted into suse, opened in konquerer and press insatll in yast tried to install it but yea it just says cant find package on medium in yast and the Install from this directory in Yast button dont work, and i dont seem to be able to find anything else to install it with...
    i dont know about kconfigure cant really find it/see it...

    i downloaded another conexant driver thingee found the scripts and ran them in konsole using the sh command (i dont know what im doing really) it finds the hsf modem i say yes install driver, it then says cannot find @HSFINFDIR@ bla bla bla cannot find the inf files tho they are all there in a inf folder. i even tried copying them all to every other directory and tried renamin inf to HSFINF and others and i just cannot get it going.... i dont know what to do

  10. #10
    Charlier Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: linux and modems

    Quote Originally Posted by Hhel
    I've had the same problem with a Lucent Winmodem. Have just installed Mandrake 10.1 and got the system going. Printer was fine but struck problems with the modem. This morning, I went out to the shed and rescued an external modem from the dusty shelf. That is now working fine
    i wish i had an external! stupid cheap internal modem manufacturers cant make a good modem!

Similar Threads

  1. Linux & Modems
    By B.M. in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-06-2005, 05:25 PM
  2. Linux modems again
    By stuartf in forum PressF1
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 13-09-2003, 03:16 PM
  3. linux and modems
    By 00falcon in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-07-2003, 10:45 PM
  4. linux modems
    By xmanz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22-06-2003, 07:54 PM
  5. Linux & modems
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-12-2001, 04:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •