Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: NVRAM

  1. #1
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default NVRAM

    What is NVRAM? My computer checks it everytime I turn it on.
    Jack GOF.

  2. #2
    Mike Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rosarito, Mexico
    Posts
    1,379

    Default Re: NVRAM

    Non-Volatile Random Access Memory
    From Dictionary.com:

    (NVRAM) Static random access memory which is made into non-volatile storage either by having a battery permanently connected or by saving its contents to EEPROM before turning the power off and reloading it when power is restored.

    Mike.
    what are you doing looking in here?

  3. #3
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default Re: NVRAM

    Should it be checked during POST ?
    Jack GOF.

  4. #4
    Mike Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rosarito, Mexico
    Posts
    1,379

    Default Re: NVRAM

    Quote Originally Posted by JJJJJ
    Should it be checked during POST ?
    Well why not? POST is a Power On Self Test. So what would be the point of having a POST if it's not checking things?

    Or do you mean does it absolutely need to be checked? That would depend on how your system might be using the NVRAM. There might be vital settings (or at least needed settings) that is stored there that help your system run correctly. If the NVRAM fails (which the POST might warn you of early enough) you system might not boot, or perhaps just not run properly or as well as normal.

    You can usually turn the POST off during startup, but it can warn you ahead of time that something is failing and might need some attention.

    Mike.
    what are you doing looking in here?

  5. #5
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default Re: NVRAM

    Thanks Mike. What I was getting at is that I have never seen that on any other comps. In fact I've only noticed it on this one in the past couple of weeks.
    If it's part of the system and it's just a normal check, fair enough.
    If it's something that's just appeared , why?
    Jack GOF.

  6. #6
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,227

    Default Re: NVRAM

    Have you been into your bios?...and perhaps set it to default?

    Best course of action, leap into the bios,enable fast boot,and set the 0 harddrive as first boot device.
    better Dredd then dead

  7. #7
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default Re: NVRAM

    Coming Soon http://www.tradef1.co.nz/ Buy, Sell, Swap

    What does "coming soon" mean?
    How far away is "Soon" ?
    Jack GOF.

  8. #8
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,227

    Default Re: NVRAM

    Hard to say, The site should have gone live a month ago, But it was decided to make it as secure as possible to start with which meant a total overhaul. The site is functional (well the build we are currently testing) stable and looking pretty good if a bit bare, all the bells and whistles are now being added.

    This longer then expected lead in time will hopefully mean less issues futher down the line.

    The other issue is that the work required is well above my capabilities so is being done by another company, and due to the price i negotiated (I sent em some hardware) its only being worked on outside of his reguler work (paying customers)

    If i was to hazard a guess I would say 2 weeks from now we will have a grand opening, Though If i put the pressure on the coder he may well just hand me whats done so far and call it finished,which won't be good.....
    better Dredd then dead

  9. #9
    Pedant and proud of it
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    6,047

    Default Re: NVRAM

    NVRAM is more commonly referred to here as "the CMOS". It holds your BIOS settings.

    The CMOS name refers to the technology : it's memory made with "complementary metal oxide semiconductor" transistors. It uses less power the slower it is clocked. So a tiny lithium cell can maintain the memory contents as well as run the backup clock.

    Modern BIOS chips probably don't use CMOS for their memory any more ... there are better ways to do it. So they use the more general term "Non Volatile" to refer to it.

    The checking means that a checksum is being calculated on the contents, and compared with the checksum stored the last time you changed settings and saved the changes. It's probably less necessary now the memory is non-volatile, but it was necessary with CMOS. If the battery went flat, you could lose all settings. With NV, now it's just the clock time you lose..

Similar Threads

  1. Checking NVRAM .. hmm!
    By Timmy19 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18-11-2006, 11:46 AM
  2. server NVRam Bad error message--help!!--
    By Long in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-08-2002, 12:10 AM
  3. NVRAM?
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-07-2001, 02:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •