Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Mixed Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    2,772

    Default Firefox Question

    I'm thinking of trying Firefox. Currently use Opera which I like.
    I assume Firefox has tabbed browsing. But does it also have the ability to search favourites/bookmarks? I have about 400 so searching helps a lot.

  2. #2
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,227

    Default Re: Firefox Question

    It does indeed, when you open the bookmarks there is a search bar placed conveniently right at the top, as you type in the letters it starts whittling them down.

  3. #3
    Off Limits...... beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Somewhere ......... near here....sometimes...near there too.......
    Posts
    4,063

    Default Re: Firefox Question

    W001 why do you feel the need to change?????

    is Opera not feeing the need enuf?????



    beetle
    Im not trying to be difficult it just comes naturally.

  4. #4
    Mixed Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    2,772

    Default Re: Firefox Question

    I have an ongoing problem with the processor running and reinstals have not solved it. An upgraded BIOS has helped. I'm wondering if Opera is the cause so I'll try Firefox.

  5. #5
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,227

    Default Re: Firefox Question

    Didn't you get that looked at under warrenty?

  6. #6
    In a 1920s time warp Terry Porritt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Upper Hutt
    Posts
    5,361

    Default Re: Firefox Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Metla
    It does indeed, when you open the bookmarks there is a search bar placed conveniently right at the top, as you type in the letters it starts whittling them down.
    I don't seem to have that feature in my Firefox, Metla. Is there a setting somewhere to get that?
    Remembering Rich Conaty, 1954 - 2016....."and don't you never forget, rhythm saved the world, Aloha"

  7. #7
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,227

    Default Re: Firefox Question

    There are 2 ways of accessing the bookmarks within firefox,and I think the second way isn't on the taskbar by default.

    The first is on the top most taskbar and is in the form of the word "Bookmarks"...This is where you bookmark new pages,sort the bookmarks and export them.You can also select a bookmark from here,....I presume this is the method you have been using.

    The second way of doing it is via the icon taskbar,It takes the shape of a book,and when clicked the "book" opens and the bookmarks are displayed down the ledt hand side of the screen with the search bar at the top.

    If this isn't on your taskbar,right click it, choose customise and a new window will open with alll the extra icons you can place there, You select the ones you want and drag them to where you want them situated.

    I normally drag up the new tabs and bookmark icon on a fresh install.....
    better Dredd then dead

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,082

    Default Re: Firefox Question

    Ctrl+B

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,364

    Default Re: Firefox Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Winston001
    I'm thinking of trying Firefox. Currently use Opera which I like.
    Nooooooo Winston, please don't leave me!!!

    How could you possibly even think about ditching Opera; it is the Rolls Royce of web browsers!

    Quote Originally Posted by Winston001
    I assume Firefox has tabbed browsing. But does it also have the ability to search favourites/bookmarks? I have about 400 so searching helps a lot.
    Have yet to try Metla's trick but one of the biggest advantages of using Opera is the handling of its bookmarks. Searching them is just sooo easy.

    I have an ongoing problem with the processor running and reinstals have not solved it.
    Have you tried the latest version, Beta 8? If not, I would highly recommend that you do as they have made some quite big changes. It will install into its own Opera Beta 8 folder so you can still keep your existing version in the meantime.

  10. #10
    Hash Slinging Slasher
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,000

    Default Re: Firefox Question

    How could you possibly even think about ditching Opera; it is the Rolls Royce of web browsers!
    I didn't realise that rolls royces had ad banners inside them

Similar Threads

  1. Firefox Question
    By JonB in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-09-2008, 08:38 PM
  2. Firefox 1.0.6 question
    By mejobloggs in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20-07-2005, 11:00 PM
  3. FireFox Question?
    By SurferJoe46 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-06-2005, 04:33 PM
  4. Firefox Question
    By JonB in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16-03-2005, 12:18 PM
  5. Firefox question with session saver
    By John D in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-09-2004, 02:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •