Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Good Laptop Deal? Anywhere Cheaper?

Hi guys,

I am in the market for a new entry level laptop. To be used for work and study, which means a lot of word processing, also surfing the net and the odd powerpoint presentation. Watching a DVD is also something I would like to be able to do occasionally. Portability is not too much of an issue, am not looking for something "super light". Looking at paying something around the $2000 mark. Went around the main shops today, DSE, Noel Leeming, RetraVision and 100% YES. The one that caught my eye in terms of features and value (I am new to the whole laptop scene however) is the ASUS A4000D from DSE HERE (Cat: XC3532 ).

I had a look on pricespy.co.nz but can't find anywhere else that stocks it, as I was trying to get it a little cheaper (or a lot ). I can't even find any reviews etc anywhere to be honest, after a few hours of looking. Can anyone give me some advice on this model, I have heard that ASUS are a good brand, is $2400 a good price, or can I get it cheaper (if so where from?). I also like the fact that it comes with a 2 year global warranty. What would my other options be in terms of specs and price? Many thanks for any help.

Default Re: Good Laptop Deal? Anywhere Cheaper?

Yes Asus are a good brand,and DSE prices for the units can be quite reasonable, Make sure you get a second opinion on anything the salesman tells you though.....

Is the laptop any good?

Indeed it is.

Certainly be able to run a large amount of games on the market.(not at steller levels but ....meh)

Looking on the supply list that model isn't listed which accounts for no one else having them,The importer is out.
    better Dredd then dead

Pedant and proud of it

Perhaps DSE import them themselves. They are a bigger company than many NZ "wholesalers",and are used to dealing direct with manufacturers. (For a while, they were the NZ agents for some brands of integrated chips.)