Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Good to be back :)
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Cookin' eggs on my CPU
    Posts
    56

    Default Debian Swap Space

    F1 works in Linux too ^_^

    So, for any like users out there, my swap space is not being used/initialized, heres the fstab entry:

    Code:
    /dev/hda8       none            swap    sw              0       0
    When I run free is says there are 0 bytes in use, though it does identify the size correctly. How o I enable swap in Debian? I found a tut at linux.com that uses swapon but that can't be found, and apt-get install swapon says invalid package.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    "I'm not proud. We really haven't done everything we could to protect our customers ... Our products just aren't engineered for security." - Microsoft

  2. #2
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Debian Swap Space

    Try the following from a terminal:
    su -
    [enter root password]
    free -m
    swapon /dev/hda8
    free -m


    Dont forget to add the " -" after su. This has to be done as root.

    My thinking is it may not be the right partition?

    My entry in /etc/fstab:
    /dev/hda3 none swap sw 0 0

    Cheers


    Chill.
    Last edited by Chilling_Silence; 09-02-2005 at 04:40 PM.
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  3. #3
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,213

    Default Re: Debian Swap Space

    Quote Originally Posted by Altec_
    When I run free is says there are 0 bytes in use, though it does identify the size correctly.
    That might be correct. How much RAM do you have installed?

    My free shows this with no swap being used currently:
    Code:
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:       1035964    1026416       9548          0     230188     216356
    -/+ buffers/cache:     579872     456092
    Swap:       722696          0     722696

  4. #4
    Good to be back :)
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Cookin' eggs on my CPU
    Posts
    56

    Default Re: Debian Swap Space

    Chill, it's still using 100%, weird thing is, free & free -m give different results. I couldn't find waht the -m switch did in man free.

    Code:
    debian:~# free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:           503        260        243          0         13        125
    -/+ buffers/cache:        121        382
    Swap:          698          0        698
    debian:~# free
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:        515944     266472     249472          0      13832     128016
    -/+ buffers/cache:     124624     391320
    Swap:       714852          0     714852
    debian:~#
    Jen,

    I have 512mb PC3200 install, but hopefully 1gb soon!'

    Edit: Memory stats at present are 58% in use of which 31% is cache.
    Last edited by Altec_; 09-02-2005 at 05:41 PM. Reason: Adding a little info...
    "I'm not proud. We really haven't done everything we could to protect our customers ... Our products just aren't engineered for security." - Microsoft

  5. #5
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,213

    Default Re: Debian Swap Space

    Quote Originally Posted by Altec_
    Chill, it's still using 100%, weird thing is, free & free -m give different results. I couldn't find waht the -m switch did in man free.
    The -m switch just shows the units in megabytes.

    Why do you think your swap isn't being utitilised when it is required? What happens when you run a few resource hungry apps (eg CD ripping/burning, opening large graphics etc) at the same time and then use "watch free" to see if swap is touched during this?

  6. #6
    Good to be back :)
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Cookin' eggs on my CPU
    Posts
    56

    Default Re: Debian Swap Space

    Code:
    debian:~# free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:           503        483         19          0         19        205
    -/+ buffers/cache:        259        244
    Swap:          698          0        698
    19mb left and still no swap usage :S Something musn't be right. I'm using Gnome 2.8 and kernel 2.6.8.2-k7-smp oh, this is Debian Sarge too.

    Is there any app which can defrag memory and/or 'recover' it?
    "I'm not proud. We really haven't done everything we could to protect our customers ... Our products just aren't engineered for security." - Microsoft

  7. #7
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,213

    Default Re: Debian Swap Space

    Quote Originally Posted by Altec_
    19mb left and still no swap usage :S Something musn't be right. I'm using Gnome 2.8 and kernel 2.6.8.2-k7-smp oh, this is Debian Sarge too.
    Well I have 1024 MB of RAM with only 12MB free at the moment and my swap still shows 0 MB usage and yet it is used when required (not that I have checked this recently). Did you try to get the swap used by running a heap of things at once?

    [edit]
    OK, I just opened about 23 jpgs of about a total of 6MB in size simultaneously in Gimp (23 instances of Gimp also running) and managed to use some swap:
    Code:
    free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:          1011       1005          5          0         39        102
    -/+ buffers/cache:        863        148
    Swap:          705         11        694
    Last edited by Jen; 09-02-2005 at 06:14 PM. Reason: adding new info

  8. #8
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,146

    Default Re: Debian Swap Space

    No, this is right - You're in the mindset of comparing Windows to Linux.

    Dont - Its different

    Its telling you that you have 205MB of your RAM is just HDD Cache. Basically you can open a ton more applications before you have to worry about SWAP usage. Ive only used my SWAP on my laptop about 3x (512MB Ram). Dont think its ever been used on my Desktop (384MB, but less strained system... I compile less at once).

    What you've got is fine - Dont worry about it, everything is normal
    I mostly do Bitcoin & DigiByte things these days, feel free to say hi on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dgb_chilling

    Before you ask a question here, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

  9. #9
    Good to be back :)
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Cookin' eggs on my CPU
    Posts
    56

    Default Re: Debian Swap Space

    Thanks you two. Chill, yes, I am used to Windows always using the pagefile ALOT. Keep up the great work, I think you both do a great job keeping this forum running smoothly
    Last edited by Altec_; 09-02-2005 at 10:58 PM. Reason: Cos I got brains like molasses
    "I'm not proud. We really haven't done everything we could to protect our customers ... Our products just aren't engineered for security." - Microsoft

  10. #10
    Hotter than me CPU
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Cần Thơ, Việt Nam, a nice place in the Mekong delta. Pop by!
    Posts
    3

    Question Re: Debian Swap Space

    Hello all.

    I found this thread as I am experiencing the very same problem as Altec_ has.

    I am migrating from Windows to Debian Sarge, too, btw. (Linux 2.6, Sarge, Gnome, pretty much the same as Altec_)

    What prompted me to look at memory usage was that as soon as I would try and open a long web page or download any larger file (but should this affect memory usage anyway?), i come down to a crawl.

    I have tried to log free memory space and witness caching, but to no avail.

    I wonder if there is something else preventing Mozilla from accessing the web OK.

    Would you have any clue?

Similar Threads

  1. Debian log in help
    By jcr1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15-02-2006, 04:28 PM
  2. debian
    By Phil B in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-02-2006, 10:17 PM
  3. debian iso help
    By beama in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27-09-2004, 11:40 PM
  4. Debian 3.0r2 DVD
    By Ashley Matthews in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24-08-2004, 07:26 PM
  5. Debian apt-get
    By Shroeder in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-09-2002, 01:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •