Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Off Limits...... beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Somewhere ......... near here....sometimes...near there too.......
    Posts
    4,063

    Default Phone lines / caller display

    Ok after heaps of badgering i decided to get caller display for work....

    contact telecom, after waiting 5 mins on the phone on hold.......... and lo and behold we cant get it.....on any of our lines...home or work...
    does anyone no why that happened? the lady was not able to explain, just put it down to exchange?

    if i cannot get this and im in central business district ( on the edge) does this mean i cant get jetstream as well???? possibly?

    must go check this one out to.

    this bugs me.......... is nothing ever easy when it comes to telecom????

    but the other thing that gripes me is it does not even recognise our home phone number...says its not identified????



    beetle
    Last edited by beetle; 28-01-2005 at 05:31 PM. Reason: speeeeeeeeelllllling!
    Im not trying to be difficult it just comes naturally.

  2. #2
    Senior Member godfather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Central New Munster
    Posts
    3,053

    Default Re: Phone lines / caller display

    Surprisingly a lot of exchanges are too old for caller display type services.

    Is not connected in any way to the Jetstream availability issue as far as I am aware though.

  3. #3
    Off Limits...... beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Somewhere ......... near here....sometimes...near there too.......
    Posts
    4,063

    Default Re: Phone lines / caller display

    So she's not pulling me leg then?

    but the business which is in say a 100 metres down the road, where a friend works has it??? i can see them from here.......they would be on same exchange surely?????

    sigh............grizzle , rant moan....arrggggggggggghhh. blasted things.

    ok im over it.

    whats next, and it seems i can get jetstream just fine or so it says...couldnt care less about that cos im not getting it....
    always want the things i cant have......
    bugga.

    beetle
    Im not trying to be difficult it just comes naturally.

  4. #4
    Senior Member godfather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Central New Munster
    Posts
    3,053

    Default Re: Phone lines / caller display

    Just tried your business number in the Telecom site and it say "product not available", so she may be right.

    Can only assume the "nearby business" is off a different exchange? Are the first 3 digits the same as yours?

    I guess that's the price you pay for living in such a remote area like Wanganui?

  5. #5
    Off Limits...... beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Somewhere ......... near here....sometimes...near there too.......
    Posts
    4,063

    Default Re: Phone lines / caller display

    First 2 digits yes, but the first 3 digits if you look from our home phone number....
    so a no go spose.....

    Remote????? obviously hickville, where nobody goes......

    wonder what the tourists see in the city then.....

    beetle
    Im not trying to be difficult it just comes naturally.

  6. #6
    Gruntled
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Johnsonville
    Posts
    542

    Default Re: Phone lines / caller display

    Wanganui remote ?? Maybe .. But does Metla live down in the dell .....

  7. #7
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,210

    Default Re: Phone lines / caller display

    Quote Originally Posted by TonyF
    But does Metla live down in the dell .....
    I seriously doubt you will ever find Metla living with a Dell ...

  8. #8
    Gruntled
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Johnsonville
    Posts
    542

    Default Re: Phone lines / caller display

    Exactly so .....
    Cheers
    Tony

  9. #9
    Off Limits...... beetle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Somewhere ......... near here....sometimes...near there too.......
    Posts
    4,063

    Default Re: Phone lines / caller display

    In the dell?

    comes to mind...Farmer in the dell, and he aint no farmer in the dell......

    LOL

    in the wops yehah.........



    beetle
    Im not trying to be difficult it just comes naturally.

  10. #10
    Theorist Mastermind
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland Underground
    Posts
    346

    Default Re: Phone lines / caller display

    Ride on, cowgirl! (?)


Similar Threads

  1. Phone Caller Display
    By Trev in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 08:34 PM
  2. question about the phone lines
    By newb. in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-11-2006, 07:14 PM
  3. Cell Phone caller block?
    By Woody in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24-11-2005, 01:56 PM
  4. Old Phone lines...
    By J ZEP in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-09-2003, 04:32 PM
  5. caller id, phone and jetstart
    By floyds in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19-03-2003, 10:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •