Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19

    Default Memory to be used in motherboard

    I need to replace my motherboard due to a problem with dodgy capacitors.

    I was thinking of buying the Abit NF7-S2G as it seems to be a decent enough board, however in the board specifications it says it supports DDR400 and DDR333.

    My problem is that I have DDR266 (PC2100) in my current motherboard and would like to use it in the new board.

    Would this be possible or do I need to buy faster memory or a different board?

  2. #2
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default Re: Memory to be used in motherboard

    You will probably need to upgrade your memory too. Your memory may work,but you could have problems. It will certainly fit into your m/b.
    Jack

  3. #3
    Senior Member JJJJJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,322

    Default Re: Memory to be used in motherboard

    What CPU do you have?
    Jack

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,082

    Default Re: Memory to be used in motherboard

    You should research on the Abit USA forums. The NF7-S2 range is quite different from the previous NF7 Version 2 range and shouldn't really have the NF7 branding. Apart from that do you need integrated Video?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Memory to be used in motherboard

    CPU is an Athlon 1.33 GHz

    I dont need integrated video, im just going to stick in my old Geforce 3.

    I know that you can stick in higher rated memory than the motherboard says it supports and it should work, wasnt sure about the opposite though.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,082

    Default Re: Memory to be used in motherboard

    The board you mentioned has on-board video. What other choices have you got in UK?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Memory to be used in motherboard

    I dont need on board video, didnt think it had it.

    Reason i thought to go for the SG2 was because it seemed to be a better spec and was cheaper than the normal NF7-S and NF7-SG for some reason.

Similar Threads

  1. motherboard ga7n400 pro 2, (memory sockets)
    By memphis in forum PressF1
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 17-07-2007, 12:44 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2006, 01:25 AM
  3. Matching memory to Motherboard
    By arjay in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2006, 09:25 PM
  4. CPU and memory support motherboard?
    By Milso in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21-09-2004, 01:19 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13-08-1999, 11:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •