Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member jcr1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    928

    Default Drawing Software

    Does anyone know of a good free drawing programme; something that would have a grid that I could layer across a map that I already have saved on my computer.

  2. #2
    Y'arrr
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sailing the seven ISP's
    Posts
    1,647

    Default Re: Drawing Software

    The Draw package in Open Office is quite good.
    There are no such things as ghosts, only clumsy ninjas.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    848

    Default Re: Drawing Software

    here is a thread on this sort of subject
    http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthr...highlight=maps
    hth
    The wise are not wise because they make no mistakes. They are wise because they correct their mistakes as soon as they recognize them. - Orson Scott Card (1951- ),

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,783

    Default Re: Drawing Software

    Quote Originally Posted by johnboy
    here is a thread on this sort of subject
    http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthr...highlight=maps
    hth
    ahh thats my old thread, a fair bit of good info there, but dont bother getting OCAD, its crap if you are starting from scratch. i ended up doing my map in word, and just using the lines there. however i did find a very goog program, map maker, and you can find it at http://www.mapmaker.com , it has grids and is actually very easy to use, about 4mb in size

  5. #5
    Senior Member jcr1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    928

    Default Re: Drawing Software

    Thankyou JohnBoy, could just fit the bill perectly for me.

  6. #6
    Senior Member jcr1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    928

    Default Re: Drawing Software

    I am trying Map Maker and can see some quite useful functions I might be able to use.

    I wonder if one of the cartographer/surveyor types could help me.

    I have a farm map, which I know the surveyed area of. Mapmaker has a very good tool for creating polygons and calculating area, which I could use to get size of paddocks, waste area etc.

    But I can't figure out how to get the right scale, using it as it is gives me areas 4x greater than what I know it should be.

    Is there a way I could set it up by setting the total area of the farm within its boundaries, then I would be able to use the area calculating tool to do the aforementioned tasks.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,783

    Default Re: Drawing Software

    you can use custom scales... navigate>zoom to scale>custom

  8. #8
    Senior Member jcr1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    928

    Default Re: Drawing Software

    I've figured a way to calculate areas using map maker; no more having to count grid squares .
    I saved an aerial photo of my farm into Map Maker, ran the area calculator around the boundary - this gave an absurd result, but because I know the surveyed area down to 4 decimal points; this gives me a nice conversion figure and a simple calculation gives me the correct area of whatever part of the farm I want to measure (through up some surprises when I saw how much area we've recently developed).
    My situation here is a bit different to yours in Southland, Prescott, as my place is quite undulating and the paddocks are all shapes, so I need something a bit more detailed than what would suffice for your purposes. But I know what you mean about flat regular Southland farm as a friend of mine shifted down there and he showed me his farm map; a rectangle with every paddock almost the same size - a dream for management.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,783

    Default Re: Drawing Software

    sweet, this is the map i made in word, very simple. however i am going to do it in the map maker program and might hire out a gps for the day and get the sizes......

  10. #10
    Design Genius
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    67

    Default Re: Drawing Software

    OCAD works with vectors. It doesn't matter what size you want to print it out, it will alway be high resolution. OCAD requires all data to be input into OCAD for this to work.

    If your map already saved on your computer was a dxf file or the like you could import it into OCAD and without much fuss it would be able to change scales/sizes easily.

    If it is an image file like a jpg or bmp you are out of luck importing it directly into OCAD, but if you cand find someone with a program like CORELTRACE it could be converted to a vector file.

    It might be worth tracing over your map if it is a jpg or similar in OCAD because then if there are any physical changes on the ground it is more easily changable in OCAD rather than directly in the jpg image.

    Im not sure why the other guy didnt use OCAD for his map. It would be far easier to change the size and scale, and also would be more easily converted into other formats

    Superoman

Similar Threads

  1. Drawing
    By dcsp in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28-05-2008, 07:59 AM
  2. A new VW on the drawing board
    By winmacguy in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 31-08-2007, 01:53 PM
  3. drawing plans
    By fern in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-03-2004, 12:34 PM
  4. 3d drawing/designing
    By csinclair83 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31-08-2003, 08:13 PM
  5. Drawing in Word 2000
    By KiwiCJ in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-08-2003, 05:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •