Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Named after my mutt lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    650

    Default Ok, probably a stupid question but...

    is it possible two join/network two computers together using a usb cable?. Just curious.

    Cheers,lazydog
    Rehab's for quitters

  2. #2
    AMD Power
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West AK
    Posts
    306

    Default Re: Ok, probably a stupid question but...

    Yes it is with some sort of software but i have never done it.

    Ethernet is much better - you can also do it with FireWire which XP has native support for.
    Think outside the Fox... Opera

  3. #3
    Honourable member!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Ok, probably a stupid question but...

    Yes. There are kits available for datasharing and/or networking. DSE have one example: XH8177

    http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.sto...ct/View/XH8177

  4. #4
    Named after my mutt lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    650

    Default Re: Ok, probably a stupid question but...

    Thanks for the quick replies. Will look into it. I have firewire on my computer (which was previously used for networking by previous owner) but the computer that i want to network to is an old P2 300mhz that i brought for the kids to learn on. It has usb and i've just been givin a network card for it but it will use up the last slot left in there computer. Thats ok though. Just have to by a cable to join them togeter. Do i just ask fot a network cable or is thier different cables for different networks?.
    Cheers,Laydog
    Rehab's for quitters

  5. #5
    Gentoo Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hunched over a keyboard.
    Posts
    262

    Default Re: Ok, probably a stupid question but...

    yes there are different cable types, the main ones are normal network cable used for connecting a computer to a switch or hub, then there is a crossover cable that is wired a special way so that you can connect it staright to another computer.

    If you hold both ends together side by side, if they are both visibly the same (colored wires bot go in the same order) you have a normal network able.

    edit: sorry read post wrong, but i have stated what cable you want, and also how to tell them apart.
    # cat sig.txt | http://pressf1.co.nz/sig.php --set

    -- iLikeLinux

  6. #6
    Pedant and proud of it
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    6,047

    Default Re: Ok, probably a stupid question but...

    A standard USb cable won't do it. You need a cable with two type A (the big ones) plugs, and a box with some electronics in the middle. DSE probably call it a "USB Link cable". It will cost more than a plain cable, but most computer shops will have them --- shop around.

  7. #7
    Senior Member george12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,507

    Default Re: Ok, probably a stupid question but...

    They're not that much though. Around $20 - $40, and it can be simpler for you to set up than a proper network.

    Of course, we here are able to guide you through the relatively simple process of a basic crossover network.

    Cheers George

  8. #8
    Named after my mutt lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    650

    Default Re: Ok, probably a stupid question but...

    Thanks again for the replys. Much appreciated.
    P/S, didn't mean to offend anyone so i've change my whatsyamacallit. If its still to border line, let me kno and i'll go back to being a junior member
    Rehab's for quitters

  9. #9
    Honourable member!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Ok, probably a stupid question but...

    Quote Originally Posted by lazydog
    Thanks for the quick replies. Will look into it. I have firewire on my computer (which was previously used for networking by previous owner) but the computer that i want to network to is an old P2 300mhz that i brought for the kids to learn on. It has usb and i've just been givin a network card for it but it will use up the last slot left in there computer. Thats ok though. Just have to by a cable to join them togeter. Do i just ask fot a network cable or is thier different cables for different networks?.
    Cheers,Laydog
    If you already have a netowrk in the newer PC you could get one of these:

    http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.sto...ct/View/XH8144

    Use a crossover cable between the PCs and you've got full speed ethernet network.

  10. #10
    Named after my mutt lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    650

    Default Re: Ok, probably a stupid question but...

    Wow, what a cool little gizmo. I'll definately look into that. Thanks.
    Rehab's for quitters

Similar Threads

  1. Stupid Question About Which CPU I Should Buy
    By ComputerWalrus in forum PressF1
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 13-07-2003, 11:40 PM
  2. I know its a stupid question but . . .
    By skidder in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 14-06-2003, 09:56 PM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14-07-2002, 03:47 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-12-2001, 02:03 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19-10-2001, 08:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •