Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    tones_malones

Default small electrical question

hey guys, long time no post lol

I've just moved the computer into my room (its gonna be an all nighter for assignments) and i want to plug my tv in and watch it (good study technique i know), that won't muck up the computer will it?

Also the screen is resting on some old economic books (i knew theyd have a use someday) and the machine is resting on top some (really nice, but mum'll be pissed when she finds out) tiles.

any comments would be much appreciated, the last thing i want is my computer to go ka-put and me lose all my assignments :\

TTFN

TonesMalones

Murray P

Default Re: small electrical question

Hi Tones

I'm not an electrical expert but idealy the comp would be on its own power outlet with at least a surge protector but if that can't be achieved avoid having leads trailing that you or someone else might trip on bring the whole lot crashing down. HTH

Cheers

Murray P

Pheonix

Can't see a problem either. Also watch that air-vent holes are not blocked, don't want TV or PC to overheat.

Curious George

Just cover the tiles!! If shes like my mum, it ani't worth the hassle!
    A few squares of cardboard outta do it.

godfather

> but idealy the comp
    > would be on its own power outlet with at least a
    > surge protector

A separate outlet is not required, as these days many circuits are actually fed from the same circuit breaker, (particularly low load ones in bedrooms) so even if you plug it into a different socket, its likely to still be on the same circuit.

If it works, its not a problem needing fixing.

Billy T

For important assignments Tones (what other type are there?) remember to save regularly, or if using Word, enable the autosave function (Tools>Options>Save) and set it to autosave at 1 minute intervals.

According to Sod's Law, the likelihood of a BSOD, random crash, or power cut is expressed by the formula: DQ = (PPC x PPL) AHBS

Where: