Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Guest

    Default Help cannot play Wolfenstein

    Cannot load Wolfenstein Demo or Medal of Honour Demo(have downloaded patch from PC World) due to 'GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem' problem. Am running Win XP Pro with 256 DDR. Would appreciate any help on this matter. Cheers in advance. D

  2. #2
    Guest

    Default Re: Help cannot play Wolfenstein

    what video card do you have? try reloading the drivers.

  3. #3
    Guest

    Default Re: Help cannot play Wolfenstein

    Have you tried downloading OpenGL?


    http://www.berkelium.com/OpenGL/sgi-download.html


    Make sure the wolf files/folders aren't read only?

  4. #4
    Guest

    Default Re: Help cannot play Wolfenstein

    tweak'e

    Am using a Nvidia GeForce2 DDR 64MB AGP.
    Did try to reload drivers, had no change.

    Scotty D

    Downloaded OpenGL to no effect and ensured all files were not read only.

    Still no joy, here is the Wolf console i recieve after failing to load.

    Wolf Demo 1.0.1 win-x86 Dec 3 2001
    ----- FS_Startup -----
    Current search path:
    E:\RETURN~1/main

    ----------------------
    0 files in pk3 files

    Running in restricted demo mode.

    ----- FS_Startup -----
    Current search path:
    E:\RETURN~1\demomain\pak0.pk3 (2474 files)
    E:\RETURN~1/demomain

    ----------------------
    2474 files in pk3 files
    execing default.cfg
    couldn't exec language.cfg
    couldn't exec wolfconfig.cfg
    couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
    Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
    ...detecting CPU, found AMD w/ 3DNow!
    Bypassing CD checks
    ----- Client Initialization -----
    Cmd_AddCommand: map_restart already defined
    ----- Initializing Renderer ----
    -------------------------------
    ----- Client Initialization Complete -----
    ----- R_Init -----
    Initializing OpenGL subsystem
    ...initializing QGL
    ...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\System32\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
    ...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
    ...using desktop display depth of 32
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...registered window class
    ...created window@0,0 (640x480)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 8 )
    ...35 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 0 )
    ...35 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
    ...using colorsbits of 16
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...created window@0,0 (640x480)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
    ...35 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
    ...35 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ...shutting down QGL
    ...unloading OpenGL DLL
    ...assuming '3dfxvgl' is a standalone driver
    ...initializing QGL
    ...WARNING: missing Glide installation, assuming no 3Dfx available
    ...shutting down QGL
    ----- CL_Shutdown -----
    RE_Shutdown( 1 )
    -----------------------
    GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

    I am unable to set my screen below 800 * 600, could this be a factor?
    Appreciate your guys time is this annoying matter.

  5. #5
    Guest

    Default Re: Help cannot play Wolfenstein

    tweak'e

    Am using a Nvidia GeForce2 DDR 64MB AGP.
    Did try to reload drivers, had no change.

    Scotty D

    Downloaded OpenGL to no effect and ensured all files were not read only.

    Still no joy, here is the Wolf console i recieve after failing to load.

    Wolf Demo 1.0.1 win-x86 Dec 3 2001
    ----- FS_Startup -----
    Current search path:
    E:\RETURN~1/main

    ----------------------
    0 files in pk3 files

    Running in restricted demo mode.

    ----- FS_Startup -----
    Current search path:
    E:\RETURN~1\demomain\pak0.pk3 (2474 files)
    E:\RETURN~1/demomain

    ----------------------
    2474 files in pk3 files
    execing default.cfg
    couldn't exec language.cfg
    couldn't exec wolfconfig.cfg
    couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
    Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
    ...detecting CPU, found AMD w/ 3DNow!
    Bypassing CD checks
    ----- Client Initialization -----
    Cmd_AddCommand: map_restart already defined
    ----- Initializing Renderer ----
    -------------------------------
    ----- Client Initialization Complete -----
    ----- R_Init -----
    Initializing OpenGL subsystem
    ...initializing QGL
    ...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\System32\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
    ...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
    ...using desktop display depth of 32
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...registered window class
    ...created window@0,0 (640x480)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 8 )
    ...35 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 0 )
    ...35 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
    ...using colorsbits of 16
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...created window@0,0 (640x480)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
    ...35 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
    ...35 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ...shutting down QGL
    ...unloading OpenGL DLL
    ...assuming '3dfxvgl' is a standalone driver
    ...initializing QGL
    ...WARNING: missing Glide installation, assuming no 3Dfx available
    ...shutting down QGL
    ----- CL_Shutdown -----
    RE_Shutdown( 1 )
    -----------------------
    GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

    I am unable to set my screen below 800 * 600, could this be a factor?
    Appreciate your guys time is this annoying matter.

Similar Threads

  1. Return to castle Wolfenstein
    By squirrel in forum PressF1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 26-11-2002, 12:24 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16-08-2002, 09:56 PM
  3. Return to the Castle Wolfenstein
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18-05-2002, 09:16 PM
  4. wolfenstein/trenchtoast
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-04-2002, 04:14 PM
  5. wolfenstein/your trenchtoast
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28-04-2002, 07:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •