Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Older by the minute
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whitford
    Posts
    1,887

    Default RAM optimization - new build.

    I have upgraded my PC to an Asus Z170 board. It was necessary to upgrade the RAM to DDR4 so I got 3200Mhz. It seems that I am using only 1662Mhz.

    I am working in the dark here and cannot work out how to get the maximum of 3200Mhz. I have looked but am flummoxed. Could someone help me fix this please?

  2. #2
    Senior Member piroska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Pet Cemetery
    Posts
    4,114

    Default Re: RAM optimization - new build.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l-what-s-wrong

    Short version;


    1) No matter what speed your ram kit is rated for , stock speed for most DDR4 kits is 2133Mhz hence why unless you manualy OC your kit or enable XMP/DOCP profiles ( i would advise you to set speed and timings manually and not touch DOCP ) your ram will ran at stock speed ! Corsair iCue shows 1065Mhz because DDR stands for '' Double Data Rate'' so a kit running at 2133 is '' effectively '' running at half the rated speed !

    2) Now that you know the basics lets move to the next topic . Just because you bought a kit rated for 3600Mhz it doesn't mean that your processor will be able to run at this speed and that's especialy true for Ryzen ! Indeed Ryzen memory controller on 1000 and 2000 series ( wich is responsible for RAM speed ) is pretty sensitive when it comes to RAM speed , much better on 2000 series than 1000 series but still . In general you will have hard time to achieve 3600Mhz on Zen+ ( 2000 series ) on dual channel ( 2 memory sticks ) let alone on quad channel ( 4 memory sticks ) hence why you are experiencing those instability issues !
    Ex-pctek

  3. #3
    Older by the minute
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whitford
    Posts
    1,887

    Default Re: RAM optimization - new build.

    Thank you piroska. I had a feeling that was what was happening. My system is however intel with an i7 6700k processor. I have set the dram to XMP and the Dram speed is set at 3200Mhz. ASUS instructions point to XMP1 which does not appear in the BIOS of my motherboard.

  4. #4
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    29,061

    Default Re: RAM optimization - new build.

    Reading on the ASUS forums, its stated
    The RAM speed issue with Z170-A is well documented
    Being an older board you may look at the BIOS version to check if there's a newer version that may ( or may not) help.

  5. #5
    Older by the minute
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whitford
    Posts
    1,887

    Default Re: RAM optimization - new build.

    ASUS website shows latest BIOS as 3802 which my system has.

Similar Threads

  1. 3D manual optimization help!!
    By JOYBEBA6679 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16-04-2007, 01:12 PM
  2. System "optimization"
    By agent_24 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31-07-2004, 11:18 AM
  3. Boot Optimization. How?
    By *Sparky* in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20-09-2003, 05:05 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-07-2003, 04:46 PM
  5. Nortons Optimization wizard
    By summertime in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-03-2003, 08:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •