Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Default Dark Star One graphics

    Hi all,
    I have successfully installed and can play the original Dark Star One from 2012, but with graphical issues that exist only when I play this game.

    I run Windows 10 with a Radeon graphics card, and have patched the game installed from the retail DVD up to V1.3.

    the issue is that after a few minutes of playing the game the graphics displayed within the cockpit window (i.e the outside) become blurry. They get blurrier, and then the screen begins to darken. It gets darker, and eventually the game becomes unplayable until it is restarted.

    Again, this is the ONLY game on my PC that this happens with, and it happens every time. Only resting the game seems to clear it up

    any ideas appreciated,thanks.

  2. #2
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,643

    Default Re: Dark Star One graphics

    Have you tried running it in compatibility mode for an older Windows version? (If Windows 10 even has that anymore).

    Possibly it's just not compatible with Windows 10. You may need an older version of Windows.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Dark Star One graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by Agent_24 View Post
    Have you tried running it in compatibility mode for an older Windows version? (If Windows 10 even has that anymore).

    Possibly it's just not compatible with Windows 10. You may need an older version of Windows.
    Yeah, thanks for that, I have tried compatibility mode for WinXP and Win7 but to no avail. I have tried messing with all the in game graphic settings to no avail. I have also tried modify my Radeon card graphics settings specifically for this game. Again no luck....I once read that a guy had to create a custom screen resolution reducing his pixels by 1 and it magically fixed this issue. I don't know how to do that LOL but again - thanks

  4. #4
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,643

    Default Re: Dark Star One graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by Install_Memory View Post
    Yeah, thanks for that, I have tried compatibility mode for WinXP and Win7 but to no avail. I have tried messing with all the in game graphic settings to no avail. I have also tried modify my Radeon card graphics settings specifically for this game. Again no luck....I once read that a guy had to create a custom screen resolution reducing his pixels by 1 and it magically fixed this issue. I don't know how to do that LOL but again - thanks
    I see a similar thing here: https://support.gog.com/hc/en-us/art...s-?product=gog

    But the instructions are for nVidia cards. I don't know if creating custom resolutions like that are possible with AMD - I haven't tried.
    If not, perhaps a program like PowerStrip will work? You may need a newer alternative for Windows 10, I have no idea if it works on Win 10.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  5. #5

    Talking Re: Dark Star One graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by Agent_24 View Post
    I see a similar thing here: https://support.gog.com/hc/en-us/art...s-?product=gog

    But the instructions are for nVidia cards. I don't know if creating custom resolutions like that are possible with AMD - I haven't tried.
    If not, perhaps a program like PowerStrip will work? You may need a newer alternative for Windows 10, I have no idea if it works on Win 10.
    Thanks for the reply Agent_24. Guess I will have a go at researching how to reduce the pixel resolution of my screen by 1 pixel BTW for those who do play this game, I notice now I am up to the Boronis Arms Factory in the main quest line, that inside the well lit armaments planet labyrinth the issues do not exist. Living and Learning...

  6. #6
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,643

    Default Re: Dark Star One graphics

    Older games built for certain hardware of the time can have all sorts of bugs with later OS and hardware. Sometimes they'll still work perfectly, sometimes they won't run at all. Other times, you'll get really weird issues, like this one.

  7. #7
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,825

    Default Re: Dark Star One graphics

    looks like it does work with win10
    https://steamcommunity.com/app/12330...2511381915024/

    but
    https://www.pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Darkstar_One
    "Some resolutions may cause crashes due to bundling an outdated DLL; see some resolutions crash the game for the fix."

    You may find some answers here
    https://steamcommunity.com/app/12330/discussions/

    Other generic things to try
    Much Older video drivers
    NVidia card instead of Radeon
    Try running in compatibility mode

  8. #8

    Default Re: Dark Star One graphics

    Thanks enormously for your ideas guys.
    I tried to create a custom screen resolution and it appears I have made exactly what my screen was using anyway, now it won't allow me to delete that because it ses my monitor is using it. LOL>

    I am worried about trying older video drivers due to imagining it will mess with everything else I use on my PC.
    I no longer have an nVidia card to try out unfortunately.
    the DLL file is definitely up to date.

    This is indeed a very weird issue.
    The graphics are consistently beautiful for about 2 minutes when first firing up the game, then get blurry and progressively darker the longer I play. The only fix is to rest the game for awhile LOL.

    Somebody muttered something to me about monitors having adaptive darkness or something, so I shall try to learn more about that next, in the meantime, my Dark Star One sessions are short.

  9. #9
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,643

    Default Re: Dark Star One graphics

    I see the game is currently $1.19 on Steam, I decided to buy it and test it myself to see what happens. I also have a Radeon GPU (5700XT)

    I did notice on Steam forums that some people have issues with high resolutions, but that it runs OK with the resolution turned down.

    Have you tried that? What resolution are you running it at currently?

  10. #10

    Red face Re: Dark Star One graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by Agent_24 View Post
    I see the game is currently $1.19 on Steam, I decided to buy it and test it myself to see what happens. I also have a Radeon GPU (5700XT)

    I did notice on Steam forums that some people have issues with high resolutions, but that it runs OK with the resolution turned down.

    Have you tried that? What resolution are you running it at currently?
    Currently running 1920x1080, but have tried lower resolutions as well. BTW, I have now managed to finish the game despite the blurry and darkening graphics. I do not play any games on Steam as I am fundamentally philosophically opposed to renting games and not having control of my save games.

    Thanks for your help though, it's nice to know this forum is here.

Similar Threads

  1. It was dark............................
    By Zippity in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 25-08-2017, 11:56 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-11-2012, 08:48 AM
  3. dark monitor
    By kat323 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-04-2012, 04:21 PM
  4. X-Box very dark
    By Shroeder in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-12-2003, 08:10 AM
  5. dARK
    By nirbhayn in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-09-2003, 11:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •