Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Passwords

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    288

    Default Passwords

    Recently I installed two DishTV SV11 dongles to slightly obsolete TV's in adjoining rooms. The first about a month ago went with no problems and it works OK. The second one, updated it's OS, and then when I set it up for various streaming services I used passwords that I had previously used including on Outlook. Now I can't get into Outlook, although my wife can access it on her smart phone (mine is too dumb to do that); it seems likely that what I did with passwords has shut me out. Firstly I want to restore my access to Outlook, and then get a passwod manager.

    Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,810

    Default Re: Passwords

    Outlook the program (outlook.exe)

    or
    Outlook.com , email webmail service

    " I used passwords that I had previously used including on Outlook"
    never use the same password for different things (if those things matter to you), as youve now found out .

    If you cant loginto to outlook.com , try a pass reset
    Last edited by 1101; 21-04-2022 at 12:47 PM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    288

    Default Re: Passwords

    It is oulook.exe I assume, it came with Office Pro 2010.

  4. #4
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    29,004

    Default Re: Passwords

    Quote Originally Posted by Brucem View Post
    It is oulook.exe I assume, it came with Office Pro 2010.
    HOLD the horses - Just Noticed something . ( after writing out a whole lot of instructions LOL)
    it came with Office Pro 2010
    You may actually find there's NOTHING wrong with your passwords --- Office esp outlook 2010 is TO OLD and insecure. Places like Microsoft, Gmail, and xtra ALL come up with a message saying incorrect user name or password, as outlook 2010 is not secure enough.

    It works on your wifes Ph because its more modern and secure.

    Simple way to check -- Go online, sign into the web mail - using the known user name and password - if it lets you in the above IS the problem.

    Another way to test, install something like EMClient, that will be a LOT more modern and kind of looks like Outlook. AND its Free, and gives the option to import the existing mail, account from outlook during installing.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 21-04-2022 at 02:39 PM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,810

    Default Re: Passwords

    As above , Outlook 2010 is obselete .
    Im seeing more & more people having issues where the email host/provider blocks Outlook 2010 (actually its 2010 can no longer connect/login to email servers).

    Windows10 built in email program works really well , thats another option .
    I use emclient at home .
    Last edited by 1101; 22-04-2022 at 08:52 AM.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    288

    Default Re: Passwords

    Thanks for the advice, I downloaded and installed EMClient, which seems to be working satisfactorily. I then updated MS Office to 365 version. I will ultimately get back to Outlook; it is not urgent at the moment>

  7. #7
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Morrinsville
    Posts
    4,330

    Default Re: Passwords

    Quote Originally Posted by Brucem View Post
    Thanks for the advice, I downloaded and installed EMClient, which seems to be working satisfactorily. I then updated MS Office to 365 version. I will ultimately get back to Outlook; it is not urgent at the moment>
    From memory last time I did an upgrade like that all my Outlook 2010 settings etc came across to the new Outlook.
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    288

    Default Re: Passwords

    Further to this, as I said I downloaded eMClient, which seems to be going OK except that I get the following message on opening:

    [Google Calendar] Synchronizing folder 'macpegbj@gmail.com/Tasks' failed due to the following error: Sequence contains no elements

    What does it mean, and how do I fix it?

Similar Threads

  1. passwords
    By eddieparker in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 02:39 PM
  2. Passwords
    By L. .A. Bainbridge in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-04-2004, 01:46 PM
  3. Passwords
    By G Hill in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-09-2003, 10:36 AM
  4. passwords
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-06-2001, 03:28 AM
  5. Passwords
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-05-2001, 03:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •