Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: Brother scanner

  1. #11
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    29,057

    Default Re: Brother scanner

    Quote Originally Posted by cowboy stu View Post
    Thinking dump it. I have a laser as main printer.
    Does a $70 printer /scanner scan without ink ? i.e. cheap scanner
    May just resort to cell phone scanner
    No luck with those help options ... thanks
    Generally inkjets even with A Scanners will come to a halt completely when the inks get to low, this is to protect themselves. They don't know you may want to scan only to a PC.

    Lasers the one I have here, (MFCL2713DW) it prints Black only, but the Scanner will scan in both Black or Color pictures, then if they need to be printed (Color) I'll send them to the color laser. There are cheaper Lasers/Scanner, mines set as a networked device so all the computers can print / scan etc. The Cheaper ones usually are USB / WIFI only.


    Depending on the Age of your Laser, if you want a scanner included, may be time to invest in a new one

  2. #12

    Default Re: Brother scanner

    my laser does the job for printing... happy with that . May just use cell phone as scanner for the few times I need to.

    Thanks all

  3. #13
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,643

    Default Re: Brother scanner

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Generally inkjets even with A Scanners will come to a halt completely when the inks get to low, this is to protect themselves. They don't know you may want to scan only to a PC.
    That's ridiculous, and something that Canon was recently sued for.
    https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/techn...th-no-ink.html

    There is no good reason why a MFC can't scan without ink unless they deliberately designed it that way, and the only reason you'd do that, is to try to force people to buy ink.
    If the printer was designed to protect itself, you could easily make it so it halts copy/print functions only.

    I have a couple of such all-in-one devices, both pretty old, and neither of them stop scanning even though they haven't had ink or even printed anything for years.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  4. #14

    Default Re: Brother scanner

    i did read of a couple of work arounds to do that so may go that way

  5. #15

    Default Re: Brother scanner

    Anyone have a newer all-in-one that scans without ink ?

  6. #16
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    29,057

    Default Re: Brother scanner

    Quote Originally Posted by cowboy stu View Post
    Anyone have a newer all-in-one that scans without ink ?
    Thought I'd give it a go , just removed the whole Drum and toner assembly from My Above mentioned Laser (MFCL2713DW) Cant get any more " no ink" Than that. It complained on the screen no Toner, but did a scan over the LAN from the PC, worked perfect.

    Note: this is scan from PC using the Microsoft Scan software. Wont scan from Printer Panel to PC as the message "No Toner" stays and wont allow a scan.

  7. #17

    Default Re: Brother scanner

    yeah... so I gave up on Brother scan software and went MS scan as WT describes above and yep scanned good.
    Tried to print from there .. looks promising but grizzling about lack of ink so may get some.
    Prints to laser no problem so happy days.
    Thanks WT

  8. #18

    Default Re: Brother scanner

    I have stumbled across NAPS2 which scans multi page to file which MS scan would not do.

  9. #19
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    29,057

    Default Re: Brother scanner

    Quote Originally Posted by cowboy stu View Post
    I have stumbled across NAPS2 which scans multi page to file which MS scan would not do.
    Errr yeah it does. (Microsoft Scan) just did it a few weeks back. Son had a 14 page document that HAD to be hand filled out ( they wouldn't accept electronic filled) had to be scanned and made it into one big PDF file using the top feeder.

  10. #20

    Default Re: Brother scanner

    Couldn't see how... maybe it new it was a flat bed ??

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16-06-2015, 03:51 PM
  2. Brother MFC-7860DW
    By Taurus in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-08-2011, 04:48 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31-01-2007, 06:42 PM
  4. brother mfc210c scanner and xp
    By drcspy in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23-11-2005, 10:45 AM
  5. What's up with Big Brother?
    By Greg in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-02-2005, 03:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •