Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,610

    Default Re: Acer Aspire E1 series Model no Q5WPH

    What if you try an external keyboard?

    Maybe the BIOS is cheap and expects a drive to be plugged in, or it'll hang...

  2. #12
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,818

    Default Re: Acer Aspire E1 series Model no Q5WPH

    Quote Originally Posted by Neil McC View Post
    Looks like a recycle job for my friend.
    Thanks for suggestions.
    The Aspire E1 are approx 8year old model . It may not be worth the effort trying to fix .

    IF the HD is pass protected , thats in the HD itself , so wont be accessible just plugging into another PC to test .
    It could allways be the HD is faulty.
    Either way it would be a new HD . SSD's are cheap .

  3. #13
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    29,012

    Default Re: Acer Aspire E1 series Model no Q5WPH

    Macrium doesn't see it and MiniTool sees it but says Bad Disk!
    Drives had it.

    Not worth trying to carry on with that drive even if by some miracle you could get it going again, it WILL fail shortly after.

    As 1101 Posted, SSD drives are a cheaper these days. Don't always need expensive name brand.

    Been playing about with a cheap-ish one I never heard of before, Got it in a workshop PC, and its fine "TEAM GX2 256GB SATA III INTERNAL SSD" Around $55 for a 256GB depending on where you get them (comes with 3 Year Warranty) . Also using an extra 8GB of their memory in the Lounge PC, no problems at all.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 28-01-2022 at 08:24 AM.

  4. #14
    Re Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Beside the aviary,HB
    Posts
    845

    Default Re: Acer Aspire E1 series Model no Q5WPH

    You're correct wainuitech. Tried an old hard drive I have here and it booted up. Fitted a Samsung SSD with win 10 on a flash drive and it loaded windows. Must see if the boy wants it back now!
    Thanks.

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Acer Aspire E1 series Model no Q5WPH

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    no one can answer that without alot more info .
    Bottom line, you wont know for sure untill you try .

    Can you get into the bios , is that also pass protected ?
    have you tried to remove HD pass in the bios ? (you might need the pass in order to do that)

    "How to Remove a Hard Drive Password" (Acer)
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dmcLm_AqTYYBP
    I assume that if you remove the battery on the motherboard, the bios password is reset.

Similar Threads

  1. Acer Aspire
    By Driftwood in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-02-2018, 07:49 AM
  2. Acer Aspire One
    By ianhnz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14-12-2014, 02:17 PM
  3. Acer Aspire One
    By ianhnz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-07-2014, 08:51 PM
  4. 200 series Toyota Dyna 1991 model
    By Adambrown in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2012, 03:46 PM
  5. 200 series Toyota Dyna 1991 model
    By Adambrown in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2012, 03:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •