Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    8,237

    Default Re: Win 11 install - for PCs don't meet the min requirement.

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Go to Post 3170 then jump ahead to 3177, watch the videos.

    https://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showth...review/page317

    The install Media the .bat file creates bypasses all the restrictions.
    You can click on the #post number on the far right and then copy the URL and that will take you directly to that post: https://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showth...=1#post1311637

  2. #12
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,557

    Default Re: Win 11 install - for PCs don't meet the min requirement.

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    Downloading the Win 11 install disk to USB now. I know my PC doesn't meet MS's min requirements.

    You reckon it will work? Or is there any other better options?

    Cheers
    https://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showth...-upgrade/page7

    It works. But.....
    You may not get any windows security updates or other Windows updates . MS have said it wont .
    So it may become less usable as time goes on .

    So, OK to play around with.
    Dont do it on your main PC/laptop

    Are there better options .
    Yes. Windows10 is a better option if you have unsupported hardware

  3. #13
    Most Appreciative Member Lovelee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Waikato
    Posts
    539

    Default Re: Win 11 install - for PCs don't meet the min requirement.

    Oh Jen .. Im not clever enough now to do that .. had a stroke a couple of years back and now instructions just seem to be telling me how to make a cup of coffee. My comp is lacking some requirements
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2021-11-10 192929.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	43.6 KB 
ID:	11190  
    You make something idiot proof, and they make a better idiot.

  4. #14
    Older by the minute
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whitford
    Posts
    1,795

    Default Re: Win 11 install - for PCs don't meet the min requirement.

    Might be best to take 1101's advice and leave well alone. Windows 10 will be around until at least 2025 and fully supported and you will have no hassles.

  5. #15
    Senior Member Lawrence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    2,104

    Default Re: Win 11 install - for PCs don't meet the min requirement.

    If I had a system that did not qualify I would ask myself will it last another 5 years if so stick to Windows 10

    If you have money burning a hole in your pocket either build/purchase something to run Windows 11

    Find Windows 11 is slightly quicker but takes a little time to get your way around

  6. #16
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,541

    Default Re: Win 11 install - for PCs don't meet the min requirement.

    Simple. Download Rufus 3.16, use it to install the iso on a USB stick. Rufus 3.16 will remove any restrictions, and just do a normal clean install.

  7. #17
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,769

    Default Re: Win 11 install - for PCs don't meet the min requirement.

    Quote Originally Posted by mzee View Post
    Simple. Download Rufus 3.16, use it to install the iso on a USB stick. Rufus 3.16 will remove any restrictions, and just do a normal clean install.
    The Other Script will do all that for you anyway, all you have to do is plug in a USB drive and when it asks select the drive.

    Last time I used Rufus 3.16 it didn't automatically select the new option to remove the restrictions, and twice it failed to actually remove them, where as the other script does work.

  8. #18
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,557

    Default Re: Win 11 install - for PCs don't meet the min requirement.

    Quote Originally Posted by mzee View Post
    Simple. Download Rufus 3.16, use it to install the iso on a USB stick. Rufus 3.16 will remove any restrictions, and just do a normal clean install.
    Just FYI
    You need to run Rufus via a Win10 PC.
    If you try it via a Win7 , the options to remove Win11 restrictions arnt there (or weren't for me)

    If its your only PC, no real need to rush into Win11 . Its not a race .

    The usual rules apply
    backup all data
    make sure you know all your passwords
    Find install disks & install keys for any other software (eg Old versions of Office etc)
    be willing to wipe & reload if you have any issues

  9. #19
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,394

    Default Re: Win 11 install - for PCs don't meet the min requirement.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lawrence View Post
    Think wainui and some others have done this install

    I have done 2 installs on qualifying systems, one a clean install the other a upgrade from Windows 10 which I think will get a clean install to clear some minor problems
    When doing an Upgrade from within 10, does it keep all your programs, or you still need to reinstall them?

    How to go about to Upgrade from Windows?

  10. #20
    Senior Member Lawrence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    2,104

    Default Re: Win 11 install - for PCs don't meet the min requirement.

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    When doing an Upgrade from within 10, does it keep all your programs, or you still need to reinstall them?

    How to go about to Upgrade from Windows?
    Yep it keeps everything in place just a features update with Windows 10, this is what I used https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows11 ,the first option I used for the Pro version but you have choice

    I may do a clean install sometime for the reason the Microsoft Store does not work (Don't use it anyway) ,tried all fixes for this so must be something I applied in the past (script ) to clean things up


    My new build just used Media creation Tool.no problems a clean start

Similar Threads

  1. How can I bypass the pin requirement?
    By Roscoe in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30-01-2021, 09:12 PM
  2. System requirement for Office 97.
    By ktee in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-12-2009, 05:41 PM
  3. CPU requirement
    By JUST INSANE in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 17-11-2007, 08:26 PM
  4. MOTherBOARD voltage requirement
    By communal in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-10-2006, 11:17 AM
  5. Memory Requirement
    By csinclair83 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21-03-2004, 03:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •