Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,301

    Default Firefox.exe - System Error

    Can't run Firefox. Reinstalled the latest version, same error:

    "
    firefox.exe - System Error

    The code execution cannot proceed because VCRUNTIME140_1 was not found. Reinstalling the program may fix this problem"


    Have been using FF for many, many years, never had this before.


    How to fix it?

    OS: Win10 Pro with latest updates

  2. #2
    VoidMaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,513

    Default Re: Firefox.exe - System Error

    When you uninstall Firefox the profile is still left on the computer, you should probably delete it but before you do first try a Portable version to see if that works. It can be installed to a folder anywhere and tried out without interfering with your existing Firefox profile, the desktop is a good place to install it.

    Get it from here:

    https://portableapps.com/apps/internet/firefox_portable
    It's not the least charm of a theory that it is refutable. The hundred-times-refuted theory of "free will" owes its persistence to this charm alone; some one is always appearing who feels himself strong enough to refute it - Friedrich Nietzsche

  3. #3
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,301

    Default Re: Firefox.exe - System Error

    Same error

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ff.PNG 
Views:	22 
Size:	8.4 KB 
ID:	11121

  4. #4
    VoidMaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,513

    Default Re: Firefox.exe - System Error

    Well something is wrong with your computer, not Firefox, so you could try the following:

    https://softwarekeep.com/help-center...-on-windows-10

    Go to this part of the page:

    How to Fix VCRUNTIME140.dll is Missing Error on Windows 10?

    Re-register the VCRUNTIME140. DLL file.
    Run System File Checker.
    Reinstall the latest Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015.
    Repair Microsoft Visual C++ 2015 Redistributable.
    Run a PC repair tool.
    Reinstall the program that cannot be launched.
    Install Windows Updates.

    Let's discuss these methods in detail and so on,

    I'd try Run System File Checker first.
    Last edited by zqwerty; 24-09-2021 at 09:59 PM.
    It's not the least charm of a theory that it is refutable. The hundred-times-refuted theory of "free will" owes its persistence to this charm alone; some one is always appearing who feels himself strong enough to refute it - Friedrich Nietzsche

  5. #5
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,301

    Default Re: Firefox.exe - System Error

    Run sfc /scannow, found a few files missing.. repaired....
    Reinstalled the latest Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015.

    Still FFox won't work..

    Anyway, will re install Win10 as I have all the backups ...

    Thanks guys for the info.

Similar Threads

  1. Firefox error ?
    By effie c in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-10-2012, 12:39 PM
  2. Firefox Error Console
    By GorCh in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16-08-2008, 11:51 AM
  3. System Error
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-04-2008, 10:14 AM
  4. FireFox error
    By NZHawk in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 31-05-2005, 06:59 PM
  5. system error
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18-06-2002, 04:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •