Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,295

    Default MotherBoard and Memory

    Do we have to buy RAM specified in the Memory support List (with the exact Part No) from the MB Manufacturer?

    Or, just match the Type like DDR4, RAM Speed, will work?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lower Hutt, NZ
    Posts
    799

    Default Re: MotherBoard and Memory

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    Do we have to buy RAM specified in the Memory support List (with the exact Part No) from the MB Manufacturer?

    Or, just match the Type like DDR4, RAM Speed, will work?
    There should be a bunch including non manufacturer ones. For best performance, get the ones they specify.....but I've never bothered before. Maybe if I was gaming more or crypto mining I might....
    Interests: PVRs, HTPCs, Apple IOS, Apple TV, Media Players, C#, Printing

  3. #3
    Senior Member piroska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    With Kim-Jong-Mum
    Posts
    3,534

    Default Re: MotherBoard and Memory

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post

    Or, just match the Type like DDR4, RAM Speed, will work?
    This.
    Ex-pctek

  4. #4
    Senior Member Lawrence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    2,071

    Default Re: MotherBoard and Memory

    Most boards come with a compatibility list for ram

    Userbenchmark gives you more options https://www.userbenchmark.com/PCBuilder

  5. #5
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    5,036

    Default Re: MotherBoard and Memory

    Quote Originally Posted by bk T View Post
    Do we have to buy RAM specified in the Memory support List (with the exact Part No) from the MB Manufacturer?

    Or, just match the Type like DDR4, RAM Speed, will work?
    just match the type speed etc.
    good if you can get whats listed but usually thats older model ram. not uncommon to get better spec ram than what it was tested with.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  6. #6
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,415

    Default Re: MotherBoard and Memory

    Yes, and no. It depends .

    Some brands (HP PC's) can sometimes be very fussy with RAM.
    You may also need to match RAM speed to the CPU's recommended RAM speed/timing recommended list

  7. #7
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    14,375

    Default Re: MotherBoard and Memory

    Most generic boards will work with any RAM so long as it's the right type, speed etc. The qualified module list just shows ones that are tested and guaranteed to work. I've never done that and its been fine. Even with some ultra ultra cheap no-name RAM from eBay.

    You are more likely to get problems putting mixed speeds/timings of RAM in than simply going off-list.

  8. #8
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,295

    Default Re: MotherBoard and Memory

    Thanks folks.

Similar Threads

  1. Memory on Motherboard
    By babip in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-03-2009, 10:43 AM
  2. Motherboard or CPU or Memory screwd up?
    By whitemj2 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25-11-2008, 03:54 PM
  3. Matching memory to Motherboard
    By arjay in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2006, 09:25 PM
  4. Memory to be used in motherboard
    By maxpower in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22-01-2005, 10:21 AM
  5. CPU and memory support motherboard?
    By Milso in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21-09-2004, 01:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •