Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Moment Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Waitakere City
    Posts
    4,557

    Default Can I move %APPDATA% ?

    I'm running out of space on Drive C.
    One major space hog is my APPDATA folder - about 65GB atm. I would like to move it somewhere else, but I've seen some websites that say you can't/shouldn't do it and others that give instructions how.
    Has anyone actually done this, and if so, what is the procedure?
    TIA
    We are all but temporary files on the great HDD of life.

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,564

    Default Re: Can I move %APPDATA% ?

    Never tried it, but doing some reading looks like you can, BUT I highly expect it "may" cause some problems at some stage, you need to create a Symbolic Link by the looks.

    Found this article https://www.addictivetips.com/window...ta-windows-10/

    Good luck

    Word of advise -- Maker a complete image of the System BEFORE trying it, that way if it all turns to custard you can drop the original working system back.

    HINT:
    To gain some space back, have you run Disk Cleanup and select system Files - That alone will remove quite a bit (if its never been run)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Disk Cleanup.png 
Views:	17 
Size:	31.1 KB 
ID:	11061

    64GB is a LOT -- This PC which has over 350 programs installed and is several years old (at least 5) - and the Appdata Folder containing the other 3, Local, LocalLow and Roaming only has 17GB

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lower Hutt, NZ
    Posts
    801

    Default Re: Can I move %APPDATA% ?

    It can be done, generally requires a reg hack to change all your paths....there's quite a few places.

    You also have to have another account that can access your profile dir and move it - else if you try doing it there wil be open files.
    Interests: PVRs, HTPCs, Apple IOS, Apple TV, Media Players, C#, Printing

  4. #4
    Bleakly Optomistic
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Otaki, NZ
    Posts
    1,607

    Default Re: Can I move %APPDATA% ?

    I've moved my documents folder, Downloads, Pictures to another drive, but not the whole %APPDATA% folder. Have you tried that route?

    Just right click the folder, go to properties, and then the location tab and change it to the desired path
    Last edited by the_bogan; 25-08-2021 at 11:46 AM.

  5. #5
    Senior Member piroska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    With Kim-Jong-Mum
    Posts
    3,538

    Default Re: Can I move %APPDATA% ?

    Just buy a bigger drive, clone the old one over and there you go.
    Ex-pctek

  6. #6
    Senior Moment Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Waitakere City
    Posts
    4,557

    Default Re: Can I move %APPDATA% ?

    Quote Originally Posted by piroska View Post
    Just buy a bigger drive, clone the old one over and there you go.
    I've sort of done that already LOL. I've shrunk another partition and expanded the C: partition several times. The problem is, it just keeps growing.
    I've just had a closer look at what is going on and 36GB of the space is taken up by stuff from my backup software. On investigation I discovered that by default that is where it puts stuff, and doesn't ever seem to be deleting it. I've now changed that location to another place, so hopefully that will make things a lot easier.
    We are all but temporary files on the great HDD of life.

  7. #7
    Senior Member paulw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Morrinsville
    Posts
    4,217

    Default Re: Can I move %APPDATA% ?

    Here's an article on what it is https://helpdeskgeek.com/windows-10/...in-windows-10/

    Here's an article about your problem https://social.technet.microsoft.com...um=w8itproperf

    Not sure if it will help.
    Regards,

    Paul W
    Taco Bell is not a Mexican telephone company

  8. #8
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,420

    Default Re: Can I move %APPDATA% ?

    download intstall & run windirstat
    https://windirstat.net/

    it will show whats actually using up all the HD space. My work PC's appdata folder is only 7Gb, after 5+ years
    There will be a program using too much appdata space, caching files or storing install files etc. Browsers , Apple apps (itunes) , adobe apps are common suspects

    Better to clean things up than try & move system folders .
    This could be one of the times when CCleaner is a good idea .

  9. #9
    Senior Moment Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Waitakere City
    Posts
    4,557

    Default Re: Can I move %APPDATA% ?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    download intstall & run windirstat
    https://windirstat.net/
    I've been using Treesize which does a similar job. I just installed windirstat to check it out and I'm not sure it is an improvement. The coloured map of the file distribution is spectacular but not that helpful, I think.
    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    Better to clean things up than try & move system folders .
    I'd come to that conclusion .

    I've identified 2 things - My backup software seems to just dump stuff there and never remove it, and Akrutosync has a log file that always grows and never shrinks. I've manually cleaned both of those up which has reclaimed about 15GB. The rest is all rats and mice - just a lot of them.
    We are all but temporary files on the great HDD of life.

Similar Threads

  1. My Move
    By pctek in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 08:13 PM
  2. AMD's next move
    By Openingfuel in forum PressF1
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 10-01-2009, 09:15 PM
  3. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 28-11-2008, 10:29 PM
  4. The Big Move
    By DUNK in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-10-2008, 07:56 AM
  5. Why Move to XP?
    By Winston001 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 04-09-2003, 09:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •