Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Malware

  1. #1
    Senior Member lostsoul62's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default Malware

    Every time I click on a favorite or link it takes me to advertisement with no back tab then the 2nd time I try I get to my site and then when I click on any link it goes back to advertizement.. So it's double work when I browse and I have malwarebytes. I have Edge which came with windows 10 but I think I need another browser?

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,663

    Default Re: Malware

    Could be something in the temp internet files, seen that sort of things many times. Run Disk cleanup or if you have it ccleaner.

    If you install Ccleaner, make sure you select the CUSTIMIZE option (its in small writing directly under the big install Button) . Then you can untick the rubbish it tries to install on the 3rd (from memory) Window. If you simply click "Install" you'll end up with probably with either Avast, Avast VPN or CCleaner browser installing.

    Having Malwarebytes doesn't mean much, its not detecting what ever is causing the redirections.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 10-08-2021 at 08:06 AM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member piroska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    With Kim-Jong-Mum
    Posts
    3,584

    Default Re: Malware

    You have a browser hijacker malware.
    Clean it out.

    https://www.techsolutions.support.co...oft-edge-12585
    Ex-pctek

  4. #4
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,142

    Default Re: Malware

    I have encountered websites that seem to be designed like this on purpose, torrent sites and the like. One site it was happening every time I clicked a magnet link (straight to a gambling site the first time, worked correctly the second) but mysteriously stopped happening when I created an account and logged in which I did to query it on their forums. They denied any such thing but logging out and testing then logging back in and re testing confirmed it only happens if not logged in. I just assumed they were getting add revenue that way and put it down to the risks of using such sites.

    So it's happening everywhere it's probably something as suggested by Wainui or piroska, but if it's only on certain websites maybe they are just dodgy websites.
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  5. #5
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,470

    Default Re: Malware

    Reset your browsers to default . easy to do with FF & Chrome
    check your DNS settings
    reset 'internet' in control panel
    Run a full AV scan of the PC

    is it only just some websites doing this ?
    as above , some websites just do that sort of thing , either by design or the website was hacked

Similar Threads

  1. Malware
    By pctek in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 16-09-2016, 10:19 AM
  2. Malware?
    By lostsoul62 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-06-2012, 08:37 AM
  3. malware?
    By nerd in forum PressF1
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 26-03-2009, 04:02 PM
  4. i know i have malware but...
    By deathracer in forum PressF1
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 28-12-2008, 05:16 PM
  5. I have Malware, Help!
    By rybear4513 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-12-2008, 11:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •