Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,334

    Default How to create a System Image in Win10?

    Is the tool still exist? Haven't done this for ages.

    Windows 10 is very stable nowadays!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Lower Hutt, NZ
    Posts
    808

    Default Re: How to create a System Image in Win10?

    One built in to windows.

    Backup and restore (windows 7). Part of windows 10. They call it legacy, but it does a system image.

    Or you can buy acronis true image.

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,675

    Default Re: How to create a System Image in Win10?

    Or use Macrium reflect Free. Its simple - made this video months ago - installing and imaging a drive. and its FREE

    Video: https://streamable.com/ep3k3v VIBoot is optional ( its a Virtual machine)

    There is another way toimage the drive as well, ( not shown in this video)

    One problem with the inbuilt W10 is if you need it you have to have a same size or larger drive than original, any drive smaller and it wont load back even if pleanty of room.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 12-07-2021 at 09:56 PM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,484

    Default Re: How to create a System Image in Win10?

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    One problem with the inbuilt W10 is if you need it you have to have a same size or larger drive than original, any drive smaller and it wont load back even if pleanty of room.
    many 'free' imaging tools have that same issue :-)
    And many imaging tools cant cope with non standard partitions, as often seen in laptops : up to 6 partitions on a single HD, in non standard order , with some non standard formating.

    How do you get Macruim to restore to smaller drives ? When I tried , the resizing option was greyed out (from memory)
    Is it drag & drop , then resize ?

  5. #5
    Older by the minute
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whitford
    Posts
    1,785

    Default Re: How to create a System Image in Win10?

    I use the free version of "AOMEI Backupper". Works well.

  6. #6
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,675

    Default Re: How to create a System Image in Win10?

    What ever software is used it has to actually work

    Many people think they are backing up but NEVER test the actual backups.

    Seen countless times people then discover that what they thought they were doing is totally useless as even though the software has gone through the motions its actually failed when required.

  7. #7
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,675

    Default Re: How to create a System Image in Win10?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    many 'free' imaging tools have that same issue :-)
    And many imaging tools cant cope with non standard partitions, as often seen in laptops : up to 6 partitions on a single HD, in non standard order , with some non standard formating.

    How do you get Macruim to restore to smaller drives ? When I tried , the resizing option was greyed out (from memory)
    Is it drag & drop , then resize ?
    Took me quite a while to find an article that explained it,. Its easier to show you than try to explain, taking a 1TB drive down to 128GB SSD

    Have a look : VIDEO >>> https://streamable.com/0aolx7 ( As shown only 3 partitions came across to begin with -- At around 22 sec you select the last partition then select Restored partition properties.)

    I don't bother getting the sizing correct, I do that after its rebooted by adjusting with a Partition Manager either installed or Via Bootable CD, current one I'm using https://www.partitionwizard.com/free...n-manager.html Then drag the smaller partitions to the far right of the empty space and resize the Main C Drive.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 13-07-2021 at 11:49 AM.

  8. #8
    Member mzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,536

    Default Re: How to create a System Image in Win10?

    I use Macrium 7 for Windows & Linux, or a mixture of both. Never fails, and only takes a few minutes.

  9. #9
    Member bk T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    6,334

    Default Re: How to create a System Image in Win10?

    Should I get Reflect 7 Free or Reflect 7 Free Commercial?
    They are both FREE?

  10. #10
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sydney AU
    Posts
    1,725

    Default Re: How to create a System Image in Win10?

    Features appear to be the same on paper.

    Ryzen 5 5600X
    Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro Wi-fi
    Corsair Hydro H100x
    32GB DDR4 @ 3200MHz
    WD 512GB M.2 PCI-E 4 NVMe
    WD 1TB M.2 PCI-E 4 NVMe
    Gigabyte Aorus RTX 3070 Ti Master
    Corsair 4000D Airflow
    Corsair RMx 850W

Similar Threads

  1. Update - Win10 ISO Image
    By SP8s in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-05-2018, 11:52 AM
  2. Create a partition just for Win10?
    By Kostas in forum PressF1
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 17-06-2017, 11:49 AM
  3. Can you create a Homegroup in Win10 Home?
    By Speedy Gonzales in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-06-2016, 01:48 PM
  4. create a system image
    By jayal in forum PressF1
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-09-2013, 01:29 PM
  5. How do I create this sort of image in CS2
    By John W in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-06-2008, 11:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •