Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    169

    Smile Security settings for old non wireless modem - Home or Public

    This is probably a very basic question.
    Have friend who knows less than me, asked for help, not able to get online.
    She's on copper and has Technicolour Spark supplied modem ( Wind 7).
    Had a look and no power going to modem tried different power points and pushed black button on back a few times.. nothing zero lights.

    I gave her and set up my old Spark non wireless one (ADSL on lid), until she can go to shop. She's is quite happy going back to this as only a year ago she stopped using her Ethernet cable when I showed her how to use wireless.
    She has up to date Internet security BUT I'm still a bit concerned I may not done something right

    It came up with an 3 options to set the network ???
    Choices : Home Network; If all the compts on this network are at yr home
    Work Network and Public.

    I picked "Home" that sounded appropriate, BUT there's a wee bell ringing saying no, I vaguely remember that for security you select Public. I think it's to do with trusted network, but don't understand why
    Can anyone help

    Also what would be a good modem replacement, did ring Spark but by the time she finished Pushing Fibre connection (which she doesn't want) the only thing I got was a "Spark Smart Modem" for fibre that does wireless too.

  2. #2
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,962

    Default Re: Security settings for old non wireless modem - Home or Public

    Home is the correct choice.

  3. #3
    Senior Member piroska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    With Kim-Jong-Mum
    Posts
    3,560

    Default Re: Security settings for old non wireless modem - Home or Public

    Quote Originally Posted by ktee View Post

    Also what would be a good modem replacement, did ring Spark but by the time she finished Pushing Fibre connection (which she doesn't want) the only thing I got was a "Spark Smart Modem" for fibre that does wireless too.
    That modem does fibre and ADSL. IT's fine.
    Although she can buy her own if she wants.

    As neither of you know how to set one up though, perhaps just stick with Sparks.
    Ex-pctek

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-07-2012, 08:11 PM
  2. Wireless security settings?
    By micky in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-11-2009, 07:06 PM
  3. Wireless home security
    By Duron in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-11-2008, 07:49 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13-03-2005, 06:46 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13-08-2004, 09:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •