Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19
  1. #11
    Silver Surfer blanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cardiff, South Wales, UK
    Posts
    509

    Default Re: Is this a waste of time?

    Thanks guys for your comments - all understood.
    Decided out of curiousity to get a 250GB SSD (on it's way) for 30.
    Will clone the Hdd and do a swap. The subject PC is lightly used by
    the owner for word processor/print, docs, pictures etc and very little
    on-line activity, so he is not looking for or expecting a large improvement,
    just a quicker response to his input. He will not be paying for my time
    and I will pay for the new SSD. Doing this as a favour for an old friend.
    I can use the SSD for myself if it provides no improvement on his old
    PC, so I see it as a worthwhile exercise. Gives me something useful to do
    during CoVid lockdown and keeps my old brain active.

  2. #12
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,758

    Default Re: Is this a waste of time?

    Be sure to report back and let us know how it goes.

  3. #13
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,112

    Default Re: Is this a waste of time?

    What you can also do, and I've posted this several times over the years - Disable everything not needed, this also speeds up any PC.

    Go into Settings - privacy - General (opening Window) under "Change privacy options" 1st turn off the 4 sliders. Then On the Left scroll down to "Background Apps" Turn them all off.

    Next Back at settings -- System - (on left) Notifications & Actions - Turn off.

    On rebooting it may take slightly longer by a few seconds the 1st boot as windows figures out its not running all those apps in the background, but after that the speed will increase as less usage of resources.

  4. #14
    Silver Surfer blanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cardiff, South Wales, UK
    Posts
    509

    Default Re: Is this a waste of time?

    Thanks for advice Wanui. Done all I can so far to optimise. SSD arrived today
    and I am now at 50% of cloning with Macrium Reflect. Looking forward to the
    stripdown tomorrow to get at the internal HDD contained in the monitor casing.
    Could be a bit challenging but I managed to find online a service manual for it.
    Will let you know Clive.

  5. #15
    Crossmember feersumendjinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Levin
    Posts
    2,621

    Default Re: Is this a waste of time?

    Good luck!
    I imagine those all-in-ones would be similar to a laptop, to disassemble.
    "...anyone who expects a source of power from the transformation
    of these atoms is talking moonshine..."
    - Ernest Rutherford (1871-1937)

    --------------------------
    "After your hands become coated with grease, your nose will begin to itch."

  6. #16
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8,061

    Default Re: Is this a waste of time?

    Last all in one I swapped a SSD into needed an offset adapter bracket I couldn't find at the time because it had a 3.5" drive and no 2.5" mounting options and normal adapters don't keep the connector aligned. Easily solved by plugging it in and duct taping the SSD in place.
    Ran much better too, duct tape really does fix everything
    Ryzen 2700X, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 NVME SSD, MSI GTX1070

  7. #17
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,112

    Default Re: Is this a waste of time?

    Quote Originally Posted by dugimodo View Post
    Last all in one I swapped a SSD into needed an offset adapter bracket I couldn't find at the time because it had a 3.5" drive and no 2.5" mounting options and normal adapters don't keep the connector aligned. Easily solved by plugging it in and duct taping the SSD in place.
    Ran much better too, duct tape really does fix everything
    I remove the Original 3.5" mount and use Heavy Duty Sticky backed velco Tape, works a treat, drive can be easily removed if needed but basically as strong as A Screw Secured Mount.

  8. #18
    Silver Surfer blanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cardiff, South Wales, UK
    Posts
    509

    Default Re: Is this a waste of time?

    Easy stripdown and reassemble but the SSD clone failed to bootup. In BIOS, the new drive was shown
    as first device in Boot Menu but getting 'no operating system found' on every boot attempt, so I assumed
    a failure in cloning operation. However, when I booted from a Macrium rescue boot disc the issue was fixed
    and it restored a normal bootup. Not sure if it was all worthwhile as the performance improvement is not
    that much. System still has the limitations of the 1.6GHz CPU and the single channel 2GB RAM maximum.
    No point in persuing it further.
    Three cheers for Macrium; Hip Hip------.
    Last edited by blanco; 10-03-2021 at 10:12 AM.

  9. #19
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,758

    Default Re: Is this a waste of time?

    If nothing else it would seem to have been a good learning experience. Pleased you got it all done ok.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18-01-2013, 07:25 AM
  2. Is WPS a waste of time? Can I turn it off?
    By BBCmicro in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21-07-2011, 04:03 PM
  3. A total waste of time - Game to play
    By wainuitech in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24-05-2008, 02:58 PM
  4. Biggest waste of time on national TV
    By jwil1 in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 01-04-2008, 09:52 PM
  5. To waste a minute 45 of your time.
    By bob_doe_nz in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-08-2007, 08:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •